A Trip to Crazy Horse Monument

in #travel7 years ago

Here a while back I had decided to take a road trip, kind of on a whim. I checked the news papers and craigslist for a less than new motorhome, something in the four to five thousand dollar range. I figured that it would only be a temporary thing, last the trip and possibly a few other short ones. I came across a nineteen foot class c that fit the bill. It was exceptionally clean and ran to my surprise quite well. I took it for a short test drive and found myself handing over four grand in cash to this sweet older couple. Wondering what I had just done I climbed in and started on my way home.

Now as I drove along I waited for something to happen, the other shoe to drop so to say. My luck has never been described as stellar by any means. I looked at the speedometer, listened to the motor humm as the yellow lines flew by. I had even came to several stops on the lonesome road I drove home. I was the solitary vehicle on that road, other than my parents who had given me the ride out to look at this beast. As I drove along wondering just what I had gotten myself into my daughter pipes up form the passenger seat asking why we where driving so funny. I then came to the realization of what I was doing I was going to have to do. I needed to make sure this was safe and dependable. It was more than just myself that depended on this.

So after a thorough tune up and inspection, I took it to a professional for most of it. Ok for the drive train I did the rest myself to save money. I have to say this was a very well taken care of and maintained motorhome and this was evident by all the records that had been kept on it by the previous owners. I felt safe and content that this beast would take us there and back with no troubles. Safe enough to put my trust in it for daughter and myself.

So after owning it a week and having only driven it about forty miles, I have driven many vans and cube vans for work so not
to much difference. So with newly purchased roadside assistance insurance. We packed up filled her water tanks did one last inspection and hit the road. The adventure had started.

Now I know this may sound a bit less than wise and a bit impertinent, and to some it may seem less than responsible, well to them I say Im sorry your life is so boring. If you do not get out and at least attempt something what have you really gained. This was a adventure in the true meaning of it for us both.

The excitement was evident on my daughters face as we pulled away, this would be our first vacation. I had been raising my
daughter on my own for six years at this point and I really needed to make sure she had some amazing memories ( hopefully not of being broken down along the road.) Off we went bound for adventure. We drove for hours with no goal other than getting to crazy horse and then home no schedule just time to look at the scenery and enjoy conversation. Trips like this really bring family together, I remember them from my childhood as some of the best times. As the miles past I found out all about the trials and drama that exists in fourth grade and how wonderful this summer was gong to be, and how great a dad she thought I was. Now I truly had to make sure this trip was successful.

When we finally arrived at the monument the amazement in her eyes at this gigantic carved face made this trip even more worth it. We had showed up just in time for a detonation on the mountain this just added to the excitement. This is a amazing place to visit the overall plan is beyond grand. The visitor center has a fantastic little theater where you get a insight on just how this project started, the dream of its designer and so much more. As you walk around you find an amazing wealth of information and history surrounds you at every turn. Their are many exhibits
and a abundance of history to enjoy. Of course their is the obligatory gift shop their as well, but for once the overpriced shirt seemed a bit easier to bite off due to what it was helping support. I suggest to anyone that gets the chance you must go see this it is, and will become one of the most amazing monuments on this earth in my mind.

Needless to say we made it safely and have used the motorhome in several trips since. It has been one of the best investments I have ever made. It may be older and kind of ugly but it has taken us to softball tournaments camping trips and many other events. We have spent hours playing cards listening to music and talking about those all important dramas that play out in your pre-teen and teen years. Sometimes being trapped in a small space for hours with your parents can be good for you.
To put the phone down and talk no rush no distractions its amazing what can happen. I find that this trip led to a much more valuable thing than just creating memories, it truly made us a family. I sill find it funny today we have a better father daughter relationship than most. She comes to me for help and advice with no hesitation. That four thousand dollar motor home was worth so much more. Even with the ability to upgrade I just cannot bring myself to do it. It has become a member of the family almost.

To you my reader I thank you for taking the time to go on thins journey with me, and I want to encourage you to step out of your bubble, do something that is not in the norm. Go out and experience the world around you, even if its just a short trip and most of all share it with those most important to you. Everyone can go to the park, or museum down the street. Or drive to a city and stay in a motel to go to a event, I suggest trap yourself in a camper or grab a tent get out where their is no tv or internet. Learn about your family and those you love play cards and really talk to them. You will never get a second chance.

I hope this inspires you to find a more beautiful life. As well as to create memories with the ones most important to you.

Sort:  

good story man, appreciate resteem it ;)

Thanks I really appreciate that It was a fun adventure, and a beautiful place to visit.

Welcome, continue in the good way

this add one more upvote to your original post @OriginalWorks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @roverone to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Very inspiring. Thank you for the post.

Thank @outwalking taking the time to read it. This was one of the best trips we have ever taken. My daughter talks about it all the time. It was a adventure and the rewards will be there forever. I appreciate you kind words.

No problem, it was a good story. I agree that it's a good thing to expose your kids to. I recall when I was a kid (dinosaurs were still around) we used to drive cross country to visit the grand parents. It was a long drive across I-80. Dad would stop at historical monuments along the road, they also served as bathroom stops. I still remember these monuments because 'I was there'. You are giving your daughter a lifetime gift. Have a good day.

Thank you

You're welcome.

Thanks for sharing. +1 upvote

Thank you @naturelife I will be checking out your blog as well. Thanks!! and have a super day..

Interesting!

Thank you @mariachan I enjoyed this trip as did my daughter, and it was a wonderful experience for us. I thank you for taking the time to check it out.

welcome

Thank you I really appreciate the welcome. I will have to check out your blog @mariachan