AKWETE WONDERS

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hy steemians,
I wanna share with you a very interesting and fun facts about this village in Abia state called akwete (Ndoki).
This village is located in Abia state, Ukwa East local Government in Nigeria.Akwete is known in west Africa for it's unique weaven and blue river.
The Akwete is a hand woven indigenous fabric made by the women of Akwete.
640px-African_woman_handweaving_akwete_cloth_01.jpg
which has been known to be quite useful to the Ndoki clan for many years.This awesome village is also my village, guess you never thought about that.This village is filled with fun, not only that but it's also blessed with handwork and free gift of nature , the blue river.
Last christmas i was opportuned to go to my village, my oh my it was awesome. I went with my parents and siblings, it was quite fun and educative. I had the chance to learn more about my village.
Akwete fabric was originally referred to as 'Akwa miri' which means cloth of the water.And this fabric is as old as the igbo nation.
Akwete cloth comes in different pattern and motifs, they are also named according to their appearance.
lb2000_619-568x430.jpg
Dada Nwakata is the pioneer of the highly ornamented intricate weft patterns on Akwete cloth. She used imported cotton and silk (probably rayon) yarns.
Af19340307.119_thumb1.jpg
The Azumini River, also known as “The Blue River,” because it is touted that there is no other river in Nigeria that is as clear and blue as it is, is surrounded by beauty and nature, lush greens and cool water, the blue river also shows a more wild and dangerous side, especially where it reaches the majestic rapids.
nigera-polo-club.jpg
The river is most beautiful, especially when the bright sunlight glistens on it, presenting an immaculate pure scenery. One can also see the very bright colourful stones on its bed from the surface. The stones are so clear and clean that the Aba Glass Industry uses them as raw materials for their products. Also complimenting the river is another site, where one can stand and enjoy a full glare of the beauty of the Azumini River, the Azumini Hill.
I had the opportunity of taking pictures.
IMG-20180114-WA0005.jpg
Tourists that is the more reason why you guys have to come to Akwete in Abia state.
IMG-20180115-WA0009.jpg
IMG-20180114-WA0016.jpg
Now you know interesting facts about Akwete. See you guys next time.

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://digest.bellafricana.com/traditional-igbo-textile-akwete/

Ok, thank you