Beach Wednesday - Looking for Some Drama Down Highway 1 - Big Sur, California

in #travel5 years ago

I have a nature-loving, photographer friend who knows every square inch of Monterey County. Often, he will message me and say, "let's go to _____________!" (somewhere within a 50 mile radius) and, he usually means RIGHT NOW! I can be a spontaneous person but this kind of thing really stretches me.

On this particular outing, we were in search of dynamic weather. It was supposed to rain but not until later in the day. As soon as we were headed down Highway 1, just outside of Carmel, the rain began to fall. Umm, ok, not what we had in mind but, we pressed on. As we drove further and further south, the clouds got thicker and thicker. Thinking this day was going to be a photographic bust, we thought we would check out the New Camaldoli Hermitage, a quaint little monastery that overlooks the Pacific and then head back home.

Dynamic Weather Day 1.jpg
This is what we saw, on the way up to the hermitage. We were now actually part of the cloudscape! The road gets narrower as it winds up the mountain so I was a tad bit bummed that I had to pay attention while I was driving. ;) How gorgeous is this?!


Dynamic Weather Day 3.jpg
After our visit with one of the monks, it was time to head back down the mountain. During the slow and gradual descent, what did our eyes behold?...A BREAK IN THE CLOUDS!!! Thankfully, there was a place to pull off so we could enjoy the dynamic weather that we had been seeking. The layered colors creating the horizon line were subtle but magnificent. The pool of light on the ocean was, both literally and figuratively, a gift from above!


Dynamic Weather Day 2.jpg
This is a bonus shot mostly because I like pampas grass and all those lines going every which way intrigue me. :D


Dynamic Weather Day 6.jpg
The further north we headed, the more the sky parted. Look at the shadow that little low floating cloud is casting. That some good stuff right there!


Dynamic Weather Day 4.jpg
At this point, the rain was falling again but we couldn't pass up the chance to take a peek at one of the iconic views of Big Sur...McWay Falls at Julia Pfeiffer Burns State Park. This is the view from the highway but there is a short trail that can get you a little closer. We decided to skip it this time.

The color of the water in the cove is unreal. I did very little editing with this shot so what you see is what you get. And how often do you find a waterfall at the beach? This spot is certainly worthy of an audible gasp!


Dynamic Weather Day 5.jpg
This is the view looking north up the rocky coastline. Another famous landmark in Big Sur is Bixby Bridge which is there in the distance. We even got some faint rainbow action...can you see it?


I hope you enjoyed this little jaunt which is my kind of day at the beach. I'm not one to sit on the sand and soak up the rays. I would rather be hiking, climbing on the rocks and finding those dynamic moments. FUN FACT: While I was putting this post together, my adventurous friend messaged and said, "let's go!" Looks like I may have another post to share soon! :D


This is my contribution to #beachwednesday by @uwelang and now led by @lizanomadsoul. I hope I am crediting the proper people, I haven't done a beach post in a while.


!steemitworldmap 36.157020 lat -121.660302 long Big Sur Coast d3scr

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

To answer your question, Truly Gorgeous. I love that first picture. Very ethereal. Though all photos are really beautiful, all the way through. Great that you are so spontaneous. But then, the light and opportunity rarely wait for us when we hang out in bed instead. Thanks for showing us the results of an amazing day out in the wilds. Looking forward to trip #7823 (I'd say two, but pretty sure this is NOT merely the second time you've been 'dragged out'...as if we could call it that.) More like when the photo opportunity rings so true.
That is such a bummer when you have to drive and watch the road. Though a good idea, so much might get missed. Cheers

Thank you so much for your thoughful comment and kind words. We may not be up to #7823 but we do have quite a few cool outings under our belt and yesterday's was no exception.

Hanging out in bed has gotten me some cool shots too. Here's one and the resulting design I created from it:
Good Morning - Brent's Room - Original 2.jpeg

Good Morning - Brent's Room - 5.jpeg

Your image and resulting art is so cool. And from such mundane things as what the ceiling is doing on an early AM while looking up. (Not that I'm calling your ceiling boring). It is amazing how simple things all around can become quite fascinating, if you just take the time to notice. I did a post awhile back that started with just laying in bed and looking at the droplets on the window pane by the pillow, as I did very little of anything except stay warm and happy. Simple things for simple folk, I suppose.

Post: Single Pane Abstractions

Thanks for including some more of your amazing art in your reply. Have a nice Sunday.

Thank YOU! Those water droplets are absolutely sublime! Finding beauty in the simple stuff is what I'm all about. It's all right there for us probably 1000 times a day!!! Stay warm and happy, friend and keep your eyes peeled for the next cool, amazing, beautiful thing that awaits you...and don't forget to share it with us all!!!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samanthajbarnes
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=beach-wednesday-looking-for-some-drama-down-highway-1-big-sur-california


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I want to go too! Haha, oh this is beautiful. I need a friend like that. That first shot really captures my imagination.

He is a good friend...keeps me on my toes! Come on up, I'm sure we can show you around!!! I like the first shot too. There is just something about trees in the fog...so mysterious and beautiful.

P.S. Thank you so much for the resteem. That is very kind!

I think it's been 20 years or so since i've been up there! And no photos... Oops! I will have to get my act in gear soon : )

Time certainly flies, doesn't it? You are not alone in the getting your act in gear department, that is for sure.

I've been there before and I have to day...tithe weather you had looks much more atmospheric :) I really like your pictures!

Thank you! I have to say, it's gorgeous there no matter what kind of weather.

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here. I just curated your post to our daily Travel Digest #416 and upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

Ohhhhh, thank you so much! You all are so supportive!!!