A memory from Yucatan adventure Part 1

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Since my teenage years I always wanted to see the great pyramids in Egypt, I watched many programs on Discovery Channel about the ancient Egypt and I was wondering how it was all in those times, how people lived and how they were able to build such magnificent buildings.

In 1998 my dream came true and I visited Egypt, but since then I had to find a new dream right ? ;)

I want to tell you about my next "conquest", much more excotic and colorful (and with pyramids too) - the monuments of Yucatan peninsula (Mexico).

02c6a2edd5833e2f871c082e4202d1b1.jpg

The first stop on my journey was Tulum, a small village in the province of Quintana Roo. There are ruins of pre - columbian Mayan city. It is located on a 12 meters cliff over the sea, the view is breathtaking.

P3050099.JPG

DSC01863.JPG

The most interesting monuments on this archeological stand are:

El Castillo, tower which probably was a lighthouse

DSC01846.JPG

Templo de los Frescos (the temple of frescs), two - story building with the paintings in Toltecs style

DSC01856.JPG

Templo de los descendente (the temple of descending god) with a relief of Ab Muxen Caba (god of bees)

tulum-01-15.jpg

Indispensable attractions of Mexico are iguanas, there were plenty of them in every nook of monuments ;)

P3050077.JPG

DSC02211.JPG

On the exit I came across the reconstruction of the ancient ceremony Danza de los Voladores (dance of the flyers), it's ritual which involves climbing on the 30 metres pole, from which four or five men launch themselves on the rope and they're dancing, that's really amazing!

P3050115.JPG

P3050117.JPG

And that will be all for today, try to guess where the next stop will be ;)

Sort:  

@sava waiting for more! :)

Absolutely amazing! Congrats on a terrific post!

Thanks so much, I really appreciate this ;)

Congratulations @sava! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice @sava upvoted and visit my wall also thanks alot

Thanks, I will ;)

Great journey!

Thanks :) yeah it was really great!

follow me plzz i just followed you upvote for upvote