You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Rhodes Memorial - Cape Town

in #travel7 years ago

Thanks for the post! I love history and have had little opportunity to discuss South African history for some time...Rhodes was Imperialism and Colonialism personified and is certainly not one of my historic heroes.. He was, however, also the reason that we inherited such a good infrastructure such as roads (and mountain passes) and rail links from the British Colonialists. I also think history is HISTORY and defacing monuments and trying to wipe-out the past is counter-productive. We should learn from the past, not try and wipe it out!

Sort:  

I agree, your history is my history but our future is together is bright. Although I get extremely frustrated with my fellow South Africans, I remain optimistic about the future of our country.
My wife has been teaching South African history and there is so much we don't know.