Spending a night in a medieval castle from the 15th century [photos]

in #travel8 years ago

A couple weeks ago, I was in the middle of France and I booked a night in this 15th century castle.

The castle is located in the city of Montrichard, in the center region of France, near the beautiful city of Tours.

The center region is mostly known for 2 things: Its wines “Tourraine”, and its castles.
Montrichard, that you could translate by “the mountain of Richard” is a cute little city, ideally situated next to the river “le Cher”.

Of course, Montrichard has his own medieval castle, and… a lot of wineries and wine cellars… It also host this charming guest house, built in the 15th century, renovated in the 17th century (following a fire), and adapted since to our modern comfort standards.
It is still being under slight restoration: you can have more details on the booking.com page

This mini-castle belonged to a local rich noble and only had some minor modifications since.

Architectural details are present everywhere around the castle, and are the remnants of its past glory.

Climbing in the dungeon, you have a ... hum... limited... view on the city.

But if you continue climbing the 3 stories using the marble stairs, you will find a massive area under the roof.
The roof structure is original and still holds the building... after 500 years.

The owners put various games, like this french-pool table (no holes !).

Now, let's have a look to the room I had. It was one of the 3 rooms in the upper levels and was the local noble's main quarters. Still, it was pretty small for a noble room, but a fancy decoration made it easy to remember the way of life of the 17th century.

Going downstairs, you can enjoy the terrace and even sit on a stone throne that the owners rebuilt finding parts in the caves under the castle.

Conclusion: if you happen to be near Tours in France, make sure to book a night there. Owners are great and sleeping in this tiny castle is really a funky experience.

I did not mention the fact that under the main house is a labyrinth of corridors, some have been blocked centuries ago and the owners are just discovering all the hidden zones. If you speak with locals, some may say there is a treasure hidden underneath...


Oh… here’s the Steemit Watch !!!

FYI, the Watch will be present in many more stories to come… including the castle of Chaumont, Lisbon Portugal, Versailles, Paris, the Silicon Valley, San Francisco, and a trip to Brazil at the end of the year.

Stay tuned!

@sebastien

Sort:  

Cool shots, lots of character in a place like that! Also how do you play pool without holes?

Actually, you need only 3 balls. And the goal is to hit 2 balls with one.
It's, after the snooker, the toughest pool game.

really cool post, later on check the one i did about the alchemist's castle, you may enjoy it

Thanks.
I checked ! And I will answer to the question In your post: YES it is worth writing a post about this castle!

Let us know :-)

Great story

What an experience!

Thanks. I have read your Amsterdam story. It was great too :)

I am in awe for places like this! I think this goes in my bucket list for sure!

Thanks. I will soon post other castle stories, following my holidays in France ! Stay tuned.

did you fear at night when you was inside ?

Not really... but I admit that the dark caves under the castle could give goose-bumps at night.
Maybe there is a knight-ghost still roaming under...

It would be scary if you didn't smoke weed :)

?

@sabastien i figured from everyones comments that people were afraid of staying in that castle. I wanted to be positive and take away from the idea that movies place on our minds that every old century castle was hunted and its not if you place yourself in a happy place. Regardless great pictures and lucky you eh :)

There is nothing to be afraid of. Just imagine that you are a lord or a prince !!

Whatever gets me laid lol

Beautiful. I love historic buildings.

Then you MUST go to France. And when you go there, let me know. I'll give you some advice on where to go.

That's pretty cool. Apparently there are a few 'castles' for sale in France.

Would love to go to France some day.

As said above, feel very free to drop me a msg and I will give some advice (places, food, wines !)
Regarding the castles, you will need a lot of Steem to buy one !! They are still expensive (7 figs at least).

I'm working on it :P The internet likes pictures of cats, right??!

Apparently... flowers are the new thing here on Steemit apparently !

Very nice... I feel like I just went on a trip myself.