Amateur Adventures #37: Turkey Tripping - The Wonders of Old Istanbul

in #travel7 years ago


Istanbul.jpg

Istanbul - one of my most favourite cities on the planet. Today's adventure will highlight just a few of my favourite places to visit in the Old City of Istanbul. You may already have read my posts on the Aya Sophya (Also known as the Hagia Sophia) and over the next few posts I will explore each of Istanbul's wonders in more detail.


Header-large.png


We started and ended our time in Turkey in the grand old city of Istanbul so had almost two weeks to explore this wonderful city on our own between tours.

The old city of Istanbul once known as Constantinople and Byzantium- the Sultanahmet district is a an area that lures visitors in and most are reluctant to leave. Unsurprising, given all the places to explore and so easy to do on foot. Its a place that needs time and leisure to explore, and I'm glad we had set that aside. We were between tours and had been on the go for 2 months - barely stopping in a place for more than one or two days.

Coming from the other side of the world we wanted to cram in as much as we could - not the ideal way to travel, but given our expectations of not making it back any time soon, or having such a long time off work again for a while, we wanted to make the most of it. So every month we would set up camp on one city for a week or so.. to take a more leisurely place.

I was glad that we chose Istanbul. It was a city that was a pleasure to be in... we spent mornings playing tourist at the major sites and afternoons playing local - reading and playing backgammon in the park or in local cafes, with our mint tea, turkish pastries and a hookah pipe.

It was home away from home.


The Bosphorus
Bosphorous.jpg

Istanbul sits on a peninsula surrounded by waters to the north east and south. Arguably the best known is the Bosphorus Strait which separates Asia from Europe. This narrow straight of water cuts through Istanbul separating it into the old and the new city.

Its worth a ferry ride down the Bosphorus to see the sites along the bank, particularly the historic Ottoman era houses, the Dolmabahce Palace and the Rumeli Hisar Fortress.

Big cruise ships often stop in the strait bringing hundreds of day trippers - though a day is nowhere near enough time to experience the grandeur and romanticism of the old city. In fact during our time in Istanbul the Celebrity Equinox docked - given us a view of what, in about 6 weeks time was going to be our home for a couple of weeks when we cruised the med!


Around the streets of Istanbul
Istanbul.jpg

I loved wondering the streets of Old Istanbul - small cafes and pastry shops tucked away where you could get all manor of treats and sometimes even a decent cappuccino and some WiFi. Perhaps it was being used to the hawkers and street vendors in Morocco and Egypt but I certainly never felt harassed or like anyone was trying to rip me off in Turkey - despite the horror stories I'd heard about carpet salesmen! Walking around the city on my own never felt unsafe.

When we went (2012) the country was perhaps a little more liberal than it is now, and while I always felt compelled to cover my legs with pants or long skirts and carry a scarf with me (I believe in respecting the customs of those countries I visit), many tourists were in very western attire with no problem.


Gulhane Park
Gulhane Park.jpg

Gulhane (or Rose) Park, next to the grounds of the Topkapi Palace was always a great place to chill out often a whirlwind morning of sightseeing. It was an oasis in a bustling city and is the oldest park in Istanbul. The park was once part of the Palace grounds but was opened to the public in 1912. Today families stroll the many paths and children kick around soccer-balls and place chase.


Topkapi Palace
Topkapi.jpg

Topkapi Palace is the cities museum and you can easily spend an entire day in here, exploring the grounds and many buildings. During the 15th century the palace served as the administrative headquarters of the Ottoman Empire and over the years was expended. It housed the Sultan and his family - with his wives and other female family members residing in the harem.


The Blue Mosque
Blue Mosque.jpg

The Blue Mosque is one of a few active mosques that are open to tourists. Its name comes from the blue tiles surrounding the walls of the interior. The mosque was built between 1609 and 1616.

The mosque is closed during prayer time (five times a day starting at sun-up) so mid morning is usually the safest time to arrive to visit. Shoes must be removed at the door and head coverings are compulsory for women. These are provided for free at the door - but generally when I am travelling in Muslim countries I carry one with me at all times


The Aya Sofya
Aya Sofya.jpg

Anyone who has followed my posts may have seen my post on the Aya Sofya.. one of the most amazing pieces of architecture in the world so you will know how simply in awe I am of this building. The monument was important for both the Byzantine and Ottoman Empires and is the only building in the world to have served three religions , Pagan, Christina and Muslim.

It's now one of Istanbul's most famous attractions and serves a museum.

I hope you have enjoyed this small look at Istanbul. Stay tuned for more adventures in Turkey

Til the the next adventure

Steem on with Love and Light

DQmRMTVvkdX9GG2Ghi1ozbe23piSWbX4ZpjshFnCEkYHXBq.gif


If you enjoyed this post don't forget to UPVOTE and Hit that FOLLOW Button!

Let's All Share the Steemit Love!


DQmbD9Et8EtYXcMBhuxJQM1fZe4UmEHShUVCWXkLZtVF6Zi_1680x8400.png

Don't forget to come check out the teamaustralia tag and see what exciting things we are all up to in the land of Oz! It's full of Aussies and Aussie-lovers with great stories from when we are at home or loose in the world!

Thanks to @bearone for creating my beautiful teamaustralia banner which I love sooooo much! Don't forget to check out her posts and show her some love as well.

If you are a newbie and looking for help - or you just want to help support the minnows and grow this wonderful platform of ours - please consider checking out minnowsupportproject. This is a fantastic initiative to help everyone grow together and is full of fantastic advice for anyone starting out. You can find out more about it here.

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@minnowsupport/minnow-support-project-problem-statement-vision-statement-mission-statement-and-plan-to-help-you-grow-from-minnow-to-whale-with


DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

(Logo and Banner Created By @justcallmemyth - another great Steemian you should check out and support)

Source:

  1. Photos are the work of the author except where credited otherwise
  2. This is original Content and may at some future point also be found at my Travel Blog The Amateur Adventurer
  3. You can check out some of my other posts here:
Sort:  

I would love to see Istanbul. I remember playing Where in the World is Carmen Santiago? as a kid and she'd go there lol I didn't know where it was then tho 😊 your posts looks great too girlfriend. Great read

Its definitely worth seeing! but make sure you have time to spend a few days there and really enjoy and explore it

Been there done that.... spent a fortune at the big mama of a market and that little enclosed one too.

Great photos!

I was actually pretty disappointing with the bazaar.. I thought it would be more market like.. was used to Morocco and Egypt I guess. We found it way cheaper just outside... fixed prices but cheaper even when you haggled inside.

Mate, I just bought presents, was on my way home from Iraq for some RNR.... so the market was perfect for me... all sorts of stuff there, not that I would have bought any of the things I bought if I wasn't heading home.

Spent 2 days and one night there, so I ran around trying to see as much of the place as I could.... not really a tourist but sort of like a tourist!

What a awesome trip, would love to go there one day!

Wonderful photos, and an incredible trip.

Thanks - glad you enjoyed the post

Great post honey <3 Those photos are amazing!

thanks lovely :)

this is awesome. I've always wanted to go to Turkey!!!!

This post has received a 3.01 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @goldenarms.

An amazing place indeed. More great photos :)

I didn't get to go inside the blue mosque, but the spice markets were a highlight for me. Did you get to check them out?

Yep - but I have to say I was more impressed at the ones in Morocco... seemed less commercial plus by the time I dragged hubby through every market I could find in the middle east he ran for the hills before the word market was out of my mouth lol.

There is a lot of talk of closing off places like the Blue Mosque and even turning the Aya Sofya back into a mosque that will not allow tourists...

Turkey has a push to move away from it's secular leanings... which means sadly the rest of the world loses all that history and a chance to better understand different cultures and religions - I'm so grateful to have had the opportunity to see these places before the opportunity is no longer available

I totally agree about the shift in Turkey recently and I'm also very grateful I got to see Turkey when I did. With the referendum on presidential power earlier this year getting up the direction they are taking as a nation is a real concern.

As for the markets, yes like your husband I get dragged around by the wife and I usually try to avoid them like the plague too....but I have a soft spot for both food and spices so its the only type of market I've been excited about :)

Did you do Morocco? those spice markets are unreal!

No. Sadly I am not as well travelled as you :)

we have been very lucky I must say. If you get the chance.. the spice markets there are amazing

Wow what a beautiful pics of old Istanbul. Love it. Enjoy your trip.

Beautiful post about beautiful town by beautiful girl !
Enjoyed your travel post .

Thank you for your posting in detail
I had visited Istanbul 2012.
It was nice opportunity for me to look around Istanbul

thanks @slowwalker. I am glad you enjoyed it!

I once drove up the coast from Bodrum to Istanbul. What a fantastic place. Your pictures brought back memories.

Its such a beautiful country.. that would have been a lovely drive