I woke up in a strange bed, in a strange hotel in Amed...

in #travellast year (edited)

DSC_1990.JPG


Have you watched hangover?


That was the mountain google maps took me up!
I met the happiest two Aussies ever last night, one used to be in the band moving picture as the drummer.

DSC_1962.JPG


I met them at a bar the one nearest me owns, and this is his boat that I have booked to take me to Gily T island tomorrow.


DSC_1961.JPG

They talked me into stopping all day from 12 noon to see the band on the nighttime.
Well I did and to say we got drunk is an understatement, hence me waking up in a strange hotel!

I even sang with the band "Alice, Alice, who the fuck is Alice."

DSC_1975.JPG

Ask me no questions I tell you no lies...

DSC_1971.JPG

Don't ask.

They love ceremonies here.

DSC_1969.JPG

DSC_1967.JPG


There is not a single day that goes by here without some ceremony or another.


Anyway enough about last night, I have spent an entire day trying to find an ATM that works, it took 6 hours of riding, I need the money to party on Gily T, I finally got it around 6PM, and also bought 4 pairs of glasses yesterday after breakfast at the melon cafe in Amed, which I repeated today, also I found a video camera by chance in a shop next to the hotel I should not have stopped at lol.

DSC_1989.JPG

I got a free tshirt for my trouble.

The boat has cost me 200,000 each way with an open ticket, and I am stopping over there for 3 nights at the dream hotel. ($15)

https://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g664666-d21106690-Reviews-Dream_Hotel_Gili-Gili_Trawangan_Gili_Islands_Pemenang_Lombok_West_Nusa_Tenggara.html

The drummer booked the hotel for me and saved me $10 a night as they know him.

I also saved 150,000rp by booking direct with him compared to those selling a package at tourist shops.

I leave most things to fate.
I wanted to go via boat to the islands, almost got talked into it by a shop vendor that does that kind of thing, sells tickets and all, but just happened across the drummers bar by chance, the rest is history.
So by bumping into him I got a video camera I wanted, a free tshirt, a lower price for the boat, a hangover, loads of laughs, a night I am not even going there to explain, and me singing live on stage to an audience that applauded.

Anything is possible in Bali, life is what you make it, make every day the best you can.
That was 6 hours riding today with no google maps, we all can do it if we try, technology makes us lazy, stay sharp and DIY!

Have a superb day ahead, catch you on Gily T island in the morrow.

Peace and out.

P.S. I had to loan Steve's backpack again tonight for the morrow.

DSC_1981.JPG