Singaraja Bali - New place - New people - bad story for 1 guy

in #travel2 years ago (edited)

DSC_1898.JPG


The photo above is my new friend the "chef" who just made me breakfast.


Here at the sunrise lodge breakfast is included, although I changed room as soon as I got here, as backpacker mode is not I.

I sit here sipping coffee and reflecting on a night of smoking Bali weed, consuming (with the locals) 1 liter of Smirnoff vodka too, which is expensive here at 379,000.00 or £22 ish.
The room I booked turned out to be a pod with no door, no key and only a bamboo curtain and cheap air fan, so I paid extra for a room, a door, a key and aircon.


DSC_1897.JPG


It is a very nice room too.
In Bali style it has no TV, not a problem for me.


DSC_1886.JPG

DSC_1887.JPG

DSC_1888.JPG


The backpacker part is called the Hobit, it is full of pods with a shared toilet and bathroom, perish the thought.

DSC_1877.JPG

DSC_1881.JPG


There were or was 2 people in the pods, 3 with me, but I could not stop in there, not a chance, how on earth can you leave anything in a room with no key????????

There is in there the belongings of a young American man that lost a leg.
He got drunk after being here 2 nights, and he decided he was going to climb and jump off the waterfall I am visiting in an hour, unlike him I will only be taking a photo of it.
He decided to not take a guide, climb up it and fell with also a rock landing on his leg and severing it from the knee down.

He is in hospital in Denpasar but the leg is no more as it took so long to get to hospital, so his skydiving days may well be over, At only 21.........

DSC_1882.JPG


>

The sunrise lodge is very artistic, the people super friendly and the price cheap.
You can buy a coffee here for 30 pence, and the weed/joints keep flowing all night for free. Not skunk neither, natural weed.

I am sitting here with a free banana pancake I cannot stomach because of my bad head, not to be repeated tonight, famous last words. A melon and a local coffee, the latter is delicious.


DSC_1879.JPG


This place is so chilled you can just take a beer from the fridge and nobody cares, nobody hassles you for money, it is that laid back.
I paid an extra 560,000 to upgrade the room ($30) for 4 nights and slept like a babe last night till 9AM which is rare for me.


DSC_1889.JPG

I get my passport back Monday and then head back to my villa in Tianyar.

DSC_1892.JPG

DSC_1891.JPG


There are many a bankrupt hotel here, as they closed for 2 years and 6 months by orders of the WEF, so yes, there are many, will Bali recover? 1 day maybe, but not for now.

DSC_1895.JPG


Everywhere I go people try to sell me a hotel, the beach, seriously the beach, such is the poverty closing Bali for 2 and a half years caused.
Many parts are like a ghost town, a shadow of former self.
Even that punishment is not enough for some as I got into a heated debate with a local because I did not comply, and he did not like it, my life not his, we agreed to disagree.

He asked me why I had refused to be vaccinated and said I am putting people at risk, I asked why he felt at risk as Bali has had (100%) 3 vaccinations mandatory, so why does he fear, it made him think long and hard, and so it should. So I gave him the link to event 201 and the rest is history.

DSC_1894.JPG

Anyway, off to the waterfalls.

And swimming with the dolphins in the AM, 6 AM to be exact.
Have a great day, it is hot and I will be having a chilled day by the waterfall 3km away, pics to follow.
I realised yesterday I am in the 1%, the rare tourist willing to take on Bali roads on a motorbike.
Peace and out.