Travel Blog - Pacific Ocean Cruise

in #travellast year

To return to the Travel Blog Start Page


BACKGROUND


My father called me one day and asked if I would like to go on a cruise from Los Angeles, California, USA to three ports in Mexico. I said "yes" at "cruise". This was before the endemic, so being on a boat with a bunch of people wasn't seen as a bad thing.

So the time came and I flew out to Los Angeles and met up with my family and another family, who's male

So, let's see what the pictures will provide by the following categories:

Each of these links should take you to the sub-blog (is that a word?), and the page for the sub-blog should have a return to this page, so you can see all the things (except the last one).


Planes, Trains, & Automobiles


A 1956 Pink Cadillac, parked outside the Queen Mary cruise liner in Long Beach Harbor.
56 Caddy outside Queen Mary.JPG

Somewhere near the LA Coliseum, there was a plane museum. And it had an SR-71 Blackbird just roasting out in the Sun. Unfortunate end to such a massively awesome plane.
LA Colliseum - SR71.JPG


Animals


Humpback whale taking a breath near Cabo San Lucas, Mexico.
Humpback near Cabo.JPG

My father loved taking videos of everything. Here he is in his element, watching the whale through his camera. He might be the OG who whipped out a camera at a concert to watch the show through the phone screen.
Humpback and Dad.JPG

Humpback and Dad 2.JPG

My brother and I had gone on a fishing charter from Mazatlan, Mexico, in the Sea of Cortez.
The water had an eerie silence and smoothness that I've never seen in such a large body of water. The air was so still, it was down right stifling. Anyway, the only thing that was caught was this picture of the birds following the boat back into harbor. The boat keepers feed the birds, because the birds tell them where the fish are.
The Only Catch.JPG


Churches, Shrines & Temples


I lived in Los Angeles after this photo was taken. And based on that experience, I have deemed the HOLLYWOOD Sign as a shrine. I guess it is an LA thing.
HOLLYWOOD Sign.JPG


Castles & War Buildings


LA Colliseum.JPG

LA Colliseum - Jess & Tiff.JPG

Where we were going fishing from. I deem it a shrine to all the hard working people who fish for a living. Your harvests are awesome!
Flota Bibi.JPG


Gardens, Plants, & Scenery


At the end of the Cabo Peninsula, the sea has carved this arch out of the rock. It is a sight to see, if you are ever in the area. I wish I had gone on the kayaks though, since I'm not sure I'll ever be able to do that again.
Cabo Arch.JPG

Cabo Arch 2.JPG

Cabo Arch 3.JPG

Playa d'Amor, a little beach tucked away between the rocks with the Pacific Ocean on the far side, and the Sea of Cortez on the near side. No wonder it is called the "beach of love".
Playa d'Amor.JPG

The Pacific Ocean was not so pacific on this day.
The So-called Pacific.JPG

Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. I would like to come back, maybe even retire here.
Cabo San Lucas.JPG


Hotel Rooms


View out our balcony from the cruise ship, as we were leaving the Port of Los Angeles.
Balcony View in LA.JPG

I always love watching the Harbour Pilots get on and off the cruise ships. I still don't understand why the Captain cannot do this work, though. Maybe I should be a Harbour Pilot?
Mazatlan Harbour Pilot.JPG

Searching for something during sunset on our balcony. The Pacific Ocean was more pacific this time.
CCM on balcony at Sunset.JPG


Weird (to me) Things


I was young and dumb at this point (a.k.a. naïve) about how things are in the world. I was a little taken aback by being greeting in port by fellows equipped like this.
Cabo Protection.JPG


CONCLUSION


This was a fun trip with my family and another family. We saw so many things and just had fun.

I wish I had taken more pictures though. But this whole "blogging" idea wasn't very strong yet. Oh well, I should learn to predict the future better.

Stay tuned for more (shorter) blogs, as most of the long trips have been uploaded already.

To return to the Travel Blog Start Page