My $1,000 Toyota Van is UNSTOPPABLE. Ever owned a car like this?

in #travel7 years ago

Aloha,

A lot of people think I'm crazy because of how obsessed I am with my Toyota Previa van.

IMG_1823.JPG

After all, this is my 5th one but who's counting? My friend and I picked this one up last year in Seattle for $1k paid in Bitcoin at the time. Which means we paid at least double for it but it was/is well worth it.

IMG_1649.JPG

It hasn't broken down once. I started my adventure at the very tip of the northern US border and am now in Chiapas, Mexico a few hours from Guatemala.

We've had countless adventures in this van. Meeting awesome strangers at hostels and hotels along the way and traveling with them in the Previa.

IMG_1139.JPG

There's nothing better than a trustworthy, always loyal friend that will never let you down and I have to thank the Toyota Gods for that for giving birth to this funny looking but awesome piece of machinery.

It's got a 4 cylinder engine so it's great on gas, there's an AWD version the All-Trac, so you can take it anywhere, and they are cheap!

IMG_1801.JPG

Anyways, some might find this post a bit odd but if you've ever owned one of these bad boys then you know exactly what I'm talking about. It's the closet thing to owning a dog as in your Previa will always love you know matter what.

IMG_0906.JPG

This particular Previas has been to the top of Bear Tooth Pass in Montana, Glaciel, Yellowstone, Yosemite, The Grand Tetons, Death Valley and more!

We've driven it to the very bottom of Mexico and have been through Puerto Vallarta, Mazatlan, Sayulita, Guadalajara, Puerto Escondido, Acapulco, and Mexico City.

Not a single overheat, not a single time it would not start. Don't get me wrong I've maintained it. Regular oil changes, tune ups, breaks, etc; but other than that this thing is about as durable as they come. Plus it holds a lot of surfboards and my dog :)

Sort:  

perfect. i need a van. STAT!

I'm in the market for one of these, they're so quirky.

I can totally say that I m in love with this Van. Me and my boyfriend bougth a Previa 91 in Oregon the last August. Was an unexpeted success!! We drove all the way south untill Guatemala (lake Atitlan) and have no problem at all !!! Great engine! The only bad thing for me is that it is automatic but anyway I always gonna love toyota previa ehehe!!! I really enjoyed reading your post and see how much love you have for this van!! I leave you my last post about how I fix few things in my Previa. Hope you can enjoy it. https://steemit.com/diy/@nielada/learning-mechanics-my-story-do-it-yourself