Hitchhiking in Myanmar part 1

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hitchhiking from Yangon to the seaside village Ngwesaung. Hitchhiking in Myanmar is a little bit tricky, locals are not familiar with it, rising your thumb doesn't work, waving hand like in Vietnam doesn't work either, you have to use your body language signalling the drivers to stop.

I got into this truck with super nice local people, they fed me and took pictures of me with their smartphones.

The only reliable way to get out of the Yangon city is to get a local bus

In the middle of nowhere, almost no one goes through here and no one stops, I chose the "main road" on google maps, the truly main and busy road was marked as a small local road...

I had a ride twice with those guys, first time they didn't know what I'm really doing on their truck and they dropped me off after a few kilometers

I overtook them on the motorbike, luckily in Myanmar you don't need a helmet to hitchhike with motorbikes

This time I got a ride in the front seat on the truck

Stopover in Pathein, I couldn't make it to the seaside in one day. It's the same truck as in the previous picture.

Getting dinner

Drinikig with locals

Sort:  

Travelling to different countries is wonderful