Motorbike trip in Laos - sleeping in the temple, Vieng Xai

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Vieng Xai, 30% of the backpackers in the city caught on 1 picture, a girl in purple jacket and guy with the helmet were 2 the 5 travelers that I met on the way in total in northern part of Laos.    

The couple the day before, girl riding without a front light, 55 km ride at night from Na Meo boarder crossing, my first and the only company during 4 months solo motorbike trip

Na Meo, Vietnam/Laos boarder crossing, Nelli

Na Meo, Vietnam/Laos boarder crossing, Benjamin

Local shop and Indian restaurant in Vieng Xai  

After being spoiled after sleeping in a guesthouse for 6$ at a private room but without heating and hot water, I've found a cheaper place to stay - a Buddhist temple. It was for free and at least I had a hot shower here! 

Buddhist temple 

My place to sleep - on the right

My place to sleep - on the right

My place to sleep - I could find a cover from wind in that corner, under those horrific scenes on the wall. It was about 5 degrees at night on 21st of February 2016, the temple monks let me use all of the macerates and covers.   

The temple monks brought me many gifts, this is the first batch, about 30% of the food that they gave me. They were also receiving a lot of food from local people every morning and so they shared some part of it with me in exchange for English lesson.

Bomb crater next to the temple

You can find out more about Vieng Xai in my previous article: 

https://steemit.com/travel/@skrzypecki/vieng-xai-laos

Sort:  

Nice article.

I suggest you can add links to previous articles of the same trip. Just like this:
https://steemit.com/travel/@skrzypecki/vieng-xai-laos

thanks for suggestion!