Motorbike trip in northern Vietnam - getting a free place to sleep with a local family

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

This was the meeting point with my friend who wanted at first to camp near the lake. Instead of that after buying a fish from locals he was invited home. He didn't refuse but he didn't tell that his friend is also coming there, after having police check he told the host about me and that I'm going to arrive late. We confused 2 locations with the same name "Yen Bai" and suddenly instead of arriving in the evening I had to make a 150 km ride at night to the meeting point.

Last lights on the way to the village 12am, still 50 km to go through small local road

Meeting point in the countryside near the lake. Village location, near Yen Bai, west north from Hanoi, on the way to Ha Giang 

Proud host of two travelers, a head of the family. I arrived to the house at 1 am, all family was already trying to sleep and the father got really angry. He opened the door for me without saying any word, I just said hello. Inside the house I saw huge eyes of the daughters and granmather staring at me and my friend in bed laughing at the situation. I just took out my sleeping bag and quickly jumped without taking out clothes into my side of the bed, I coverded myself and I bursed into laugh, I had to stop it immediately as we all slept in one room...

Our breakfast, in the morning our host changed his mood immediately after we started to drinking rice wine with him

Host family

Host family

Crazy hitchhiker Thomas who found that place. He hitchhiked Africa from Egypt to RPA and now he's been doing it for over 6 months in SEA.

Host with his friend

View from the house

Muddy road to the house