Get Used To Winter, You Are Canadian!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

What does being Canadian mean to you? Is it that we say the all famous "EH" or that we live in igloos(not actually real)? Whatever the reason, being Canadian, consists of snow. Lots and lots of snow. Some years have not been so bad, however this one is being a bitch on pms. Or is it? Maybe we have become accustomed to warmer winters and can't handle being Canadian anymore! I feel this is more accurate because I remember there being lots of snow as a child.

image

I remember playing outside and building snow forts in freezing cold temperatures for hours as a child. My mother would have to call me in for hot chocolate. Now I have a hard time even getting my kids out the door. They are cold just thinking about going outside on a -8°C day. Then once I hustle them out the damn door, they come in every two minutes begging to come inside. "Maaawm, I'm freezing!" It becomes super frustrating. Where did we go so wrong? It is not that my kids don't like going outside, in the summer I never see them. Just winter, the one thing we should be able to handle as Canadian.

image

It's not only children! They cancel school busses at the slightest sight of snow or thought of it. Snow has become a legitimate reason to call in sick to work! Are you kidding me? Get your sleigh and sled dogs out and get the heck to work! Seriously! They actually cancelled a kids dance today! I took my kids and it was closed. A bunch of parents showed up. Wondering why it was closed in the first place.

image

So when did Canadian mean staying inside all winter? Avoiding the cold and turning all pale from lack of vitamin D. Why is it more acceptable to close things down and call into work instead of suffering through it? I'm starting to think my dog is more Canadian than most humans around here! She loves the snow. I will still continue to make my kids go outside and build snowmen and forts. I will continue to make it to the places I need to be like work! Why? Because I AM FUCKING CANADIAN EH!

Have a wondeful day! Get outside, enjoy the weather no matter what it is and please if you are Canadian play in the snow!!😊


Sort:  

So true, cold weather and snow did not prevent Canadians from spending time outdoors.