A Poet From The Heaven and His Wife, Their Love.

in #travel6 years ago

Insadong is very special place in Seoul.
Many of tourists are coming over Insadong for enjoying Korean traditional culture and shopping.
There are lots of restaurants and traditional caffe selling Korean traditional teas.
Up until several years ago, lots of antique shops were selling the curios.
But nowdays, it is not easy to buy the antiques here.

Insadong was changing rapidly for the tourism.
So like other many places, we could not look at real Korean culture in Insadong.

About 20 years ago, I had dropped by a caffe, the name of ‘Gui Cheon’, the meaning of GUI Cheon is ‘Comming Back to the Heaven’

The name of that caffe was the title of very famous poem in Korea.
This caffe had been managed by a poet’s wife.

It is over my ability to translate this poem in English.
But the subject of this poem was that the poet came here on the earth in picnic, so he would like to get back to the heaven, and he’d like to tell that the things on the earth was beautiful.

Actually I was shedding my tears when I read this poem.
Because we, Koreans, know how he had lived in Korea.

He was very genius when he was student. But he decided to be a poet and gave up the value of secular. He refused some very good suggestions for living.

But under the military coup government, he was arrested and tortured seriously.
He was abandoned by the street.
Many people thought he must’ve died, so they issued the posthumous manuscript.
So he became a first poet who had the posthumous publication while he was alive.

His life was deteriorated by the torture, they destroyed not only his body but also his spirit.
He could not live without someone’s help.

So one of his friend suggested his younger sister to marry him and care for him.
It would be nonsense, but his sister noticed his genius at first glance and deeply impressed by his angel like soul.

They loved each other deeply, it was a love of Logos.

They married, but it was hard to live without the income. So some of his friend gathered money and bought small caffe for their living.

The caffe I dropped by had that story.

Now poet was passed away, and his wife was also passed away.
As a result of the torture, poet lost every thing for male, they could not have a kid.

Whenever I have walked around Insadong, I visit the caffe ‘Gui Cheon’
I miss him and her.

They had stayed on the earth like the pure angels

Here I ‘d like to introduce the photo of the caffe ‘Gui Cheon’

Outside of caffe

2CB56107-21EF-433C-B4C5-EE9B40B01049.jpeg

A636B4BE-9458-4BBE-9378-CE308A8A1E84.jpeg

EDCD3F30-11EF-4731-9119-2AB9E1EBAEE0.jpeg

Inside of the caffe.

574E4988-33AF-4CED-83BE-7021108A8555.jpeg

2C16C507-050E-4A08-BE8D-C6D228906426.jpeg

46485D9A-339B-47FB-B3F2-5ADF59DD21D7.jpeg

3D989744-91DD-4CE0-9C7B-27C16E2D9A18.jpeg

On the wall, poet and his wife

F82E096E-7474-4036-8372-B600002BC707.jpeg

The Korean traditional tea and the snack

F64E8BE6-04B2-4ED6-9E28-DD6416717BF8.jpeg

Cheon Sang Byeong was poet, and Mok Soon Ok was her name.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Nice ..
Half the meanings of life can be learned from travel
Thanks for sharing and photos

Thanks for sharing this info with us especially those of us who will love to visit Seoul one day. Great info from you -always...and nice yummy food.

I am currenty supporting a new minnow via my latest post in order to motivate her not to give up..feel free to check it out and send in your support...wish you a blessed weekend.

Thank you so much for your comment

You are welcome and thanks a lot for your kindness and support...happy weekend.

I agree with you

This gap space make so rare feel

a nice place comrades, and korea has a historic place and will attract a lot of tourists to visit korea @slowwalker success always

Thank you so much

You are welcom..

Looks like a cute cafe, very enjoyable atmosphere.

Yes, convenient and cozy place

Even the cafes there are full of history, how marvelous. Seems that the poet lived a full and happy life. :)

Thank you for sharing @slowwalker. A blessed day to you!

Thank you so much

Always welcome bro @slowwalker. A wonderful and blessed sunday to you!

Korean culture is beautiful and unique,I invite you to check my last post "Giant Oceans"if you like :)

WOw what a nice couple?its rarely just to get a guy who doesnt mind smilling like that,and you can tel these two are in love ,i can see it in their eyes

Exactly, lol

Such a refreshing story!

I really want to visit Korea someday, not just because I love Korean Drama. I just really feel the urge. And I'm gonna visit this special place in South Korea. Hopefully.

When you visit, please let me know

Thats really an amazing photography.

amazing photography. a nice couple. this atmosphere is very enjoyable

traditional tea and the snack look sweet :D

What a heart-touching love story powerful enough to send your thoughts and imaginations to where your fantasies can come through!.... Tnks for bringing this our way, can't wait to visit these people and places.

An interesting comment, but it is more profitable to start a new day every day;)

Awesome photograpy ..I like Korean photo .Thank sharing this photo..

Thank you so much

good that is.......for photography korea is best......
thanks for sharing the travel felling

Thank you for comment

The owner of Guicheon caffe is the nephew of 'Cheon Sang Byeong'. Am I right?

Wow awesome story...

와우, 아주 좋은 게시물, 난 정말 @slowwalker 게시물을 좋아, 내가 게시물 @slowwalker을 resteem, 내 블로그 @slowwalker를 방문하십시오, 내게 열정을 줘.

Very nice place, the pictures are great, Korea is a place I have always wanted to visit, I can't wait until when I can afford to travel there. now your post will inspire me to work hard.

Thank you for comment.
I wish your dream come true here in Steemit

Customers would have to enjoy their meals amidst a poetic environment. Thanks @slowwalker Nice story indeed

Thank you so much

Excellent photography, amazing post thanks for sharing

sad story/poem.

i understand that you like to visit Gui Cheon

Yes, I really love to visit

I want go there and try this food :) cool street :)

Excellent post and wonderful photo , greeting from morocco in the last pic its seems so delecious , thank so much to share amazing content in steemit

Thank you for dropping by

Your posts is so fantastic im new user in steemit and i enjoy evert single post its amazing experience for me i think.it will change my life im also in steepshot i find this platform so interessing

Old New Year - hurray,
It's time to celebrate again.
The chimes fight will be repeated
And the desire will come true.

Pour a glass of wine
Drink it to the bottom.
It's so accepted in the country -
Holiday celebrate in double.

Thank you for your old new year song

i' ve visited there 3~4 times,
but i thought there 's nothing special attract me like you mention.
the story you introduced is interesting ^^~ thx slowwalker

Very nice story... Love is beyond any problem! Be fine... and slow walk in piece!

Hahaha

In peace ...
:P

very nice photography!!

amazing post..
thanks for share..
resteem this post..

Thank you so much

korea has a historic place, and worth to visit, for tonight do not forget to visit my post, who knows you like

I think being consistent with your passion is what makes this place historical. He was tortured but never give up what he believed made him happy. Interesting story behind the poem. Thanks @slowwalker.

Korean love is completely different and very romantic. I never been in Korea but always have watched from movies and tv your culture and history also very interesting I hope that in the future I'll visit your beautiful country

Every place has its story. Weather good or bad. Happy or sad..

I LOVE visiting Insadong. Super traditional, the people are nice, and there's ALWAYS something to do there. I'll have to visit that cafe when I go back. It looks WONDERFUL there!

Thanks for the pictures!

You will like there

this restaurant has really a great story. the poet knew what he was doing though people couldn't understand him. the question is, how special are you from others? or you just follow the mass.

I think I've learn something great from you.

I like this cafe. an interesting cafe to visit with family. Thanks for you post.

I lived in Seoul for a year in my early 20s and went to Insadong at least half a dozen times. This post made me wanna go back! I loved Seoul and it will always hold a special place in my heart!

Hahaha
You need to visit once more

wow I liked this post

That story really has everything. Tradgedy, love, triumph, and such a bittersweet end. And I have to say that the pecularity of the way you write in English is actually charming. I don't think that the story would have been as enjoyable had it been written by me. I can't quite put my finger on it, there's just something that feels authentic in the way that it reads that I don't think it otherwise would have. I hope that you have more stories to tell.

Thank you for your comment.
Yes there are lots of stories when it comes to the couple of poet.
Sometimes the image is telling more than the story in detail.
In my view, the photos of poet and restaurant is enough to imagine their life and love.

this is a pretty post

Nice post beautiful presented and explained. detail oriented with nice information. thank you for sharing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think I really have to plan a trip to Korea, it all looks so interesting and strange. I love to explore something new.

Yes you will like Korea.
When you visit Korea, let me know please

Of course I will inform you my friend when we travel to Korea.

Wow, great article with lovely illustrations! I enjoyed it.

@slowwalker Such a great article & nice photography
##Upvote/Resteem###you are family life manege met Excellent thank you for sharing

the couple looking so good..........the traditional tea looking so delicious..........i pray...for them...they will be happy in heaven ........

Sir, I am a boy of a very poor house.
Spend the cost of my education with a lot of difficulty.
Please upvote my post.Thank,s

There are 2 pages
Pages