Lost history in Seoul and Sorry to the History

in #travel6 years ago

I met my friend to have a dinner. It was a second day of my itinerary after the retirement.
I walked along the street to go to the coffee shop where we promised to see.
Suddenly I noticed a small board on which pimatgol’피맛골’ was written.
The word ‘pimatgol’ means that escaping from the horses.

For a long time ago, the ordinary people were not allowed to walk the main street.
Main Street was road for the novel class, so common people should walk along the backyard alley to escape from the horses.

Naturally the Pimatgol became the ordinary people’s alley.
There were small snack bars and shops. There were very complicated places.
It had been more than 600 years.

I also had bought the lunch when I was young and poor student. Sometimes me and my friends had met at the Pimatgol and had the humble lunch. At that time I was happy.

The board guided me into the past, so I walked into the Pimatgol thinking the past.
But the Pimatgol was not that pimatgol where I have remembered.

There were no more snack bars and people. The shops were closed.

I felt sorry about the Pimatgol. The history of 600 years happened to be disappeared.
Maybe young generation could not remember or understand that the pimatgol means.

With a severe heart, I passed through the Pimatgol.
As coming closer to the Insadong area, the atmosphere was changing.
Finally I arrived at the restaurant where we promised to meet.

The Insadong alley was clean and well decorated.

On the contrary the Pimatgol seemed to be abandoned.

I don’t Know why Seoul city government did not care for the Pimatgol.
I entered into the restaurant with a feeling of sorry.

Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

I like the colorful trees. The streets are small but they seem really quiet and one can take a relaxing walk. Thanks for sharing.

Interesting pictures of Korea. Thanks for sharing

Great post! Thanks for sharing these photos with us :)

these one is quite interesting

Very cool. These pics of Seoul tell a great story. Please keep these travel posts going, it's nice for those of us who can't get away often.

INteresting post and photos!

good evening brother @slowwalker
Great photography and I also do not forget that visiting the places we went in the past is great
I liked this article and really deserved it Resteem This Post
I apologize I do not have a voting power until you vote

awesome collection of wonderful pictures thanks for this lovely post

@slowwalker it was great to know about pimatgol and how you used to spend good times with your buddies back when you were young. Yeah man it does hurt when you dont get things like you left them behind living, enjoying. I am already missing tons of things of my childhood just in my 19s.

hahaha
Thank you for your thoughtful understanding

a wistful post, @slowwalker.

So much of what is charming in a city depends on nostalgia and vestiges of the past.

When I was growing up in Toronto there were tubs on busy street corners that were used to water horses. Of course, horse-drawn wagons began being phased out in the 1950's and within two decades there was no longer a use for these tubs.

The Pimatgol falls into this category. It has become irrelevant to modern Seoul and has no place in its future.

I do agree with you that some aspects of traditional architecture and culture should be maintained by a city for the sake of its heritage, and they can also serve to promote tourism.

But inevitably, anything that's no longer relevant will eventually be lost. Even cursive writing in schools is no longer being taught.

The world of the future will be no place for old men, lol.

The thing is; I think that it still IS relevant in Korea, as you still see streets like this prosper in smaller towns. The problem lies with the western obsessionism, and the the cultural aspect of "face." The government, especially in cities like Seoul, want to promote being "modern" (western) as for them, it makes them feel like they are a leading nation, and wealthy. There have been A LOT of changes in this regard with the upcoming hosting of the Olympics.
Seoul is the least returned to place for tourism in the world (last time I checked), and it's because people don't actually feel like they travelled anywhere. It's Starbucks in a concrete jungle.
Seoul is not Korea, imo.

Right. I agree with you.
They need to recreate not to immitate

that's very insightful, @imlikett - thank you for providing your experience - what you say makes sense

Yes, I understand the situations.
But I was just feeling sorry about something I had experienced

Awesome post.

Nice post..
Thank for sharing..
Please upvote my post...

You have such great quality posts and photos but still no profile picture
I see you don’t have a Steemit Profile Picture I made a post to make it simple to do just scroll down to 5 on this post Here
Also here is a contest I have going on https://steemit.com/contest/@isteemithard/new-steemit-contest-best-steemit-post-this-week-week-1
lol,

Going back to places where we once had pleasant memories only to find them shuttered and abandoned is sad. Those activities that happened there hopefully are just happening some place else. Change never stops. I hope your lunch with your friend was a good one, and cheered you up! Be well and thank you for sharing your photos and thoughts.

congratulations for your post and also your beautiful photos about Korea , I invite you to check my
last post if you like :)

Beautiful pictures.
The fact is that when civilization comes, it peels away layers of history and lays the people (younger generations) bare of their past.
It happens everywhere.

This is the first time i heard about pimatgol. So much need to know about south korea.

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

i'm new.. Help me, follow me

Welcome to Steem it, hope you will have fun here
Follow me and i will do the same, keep in contact

Follow the following helpful posts for beginners and do upvote
https://steemit.com/steemit/@premnakarmi/steem-part-1-guidelines-for-steem-begineers
https://steemit.com/steem/@premnakarmi/steem-part-2-steemit-bandwith-limit-issue-transact-and-power-up
https://steemit.com/steemit/@premnakarmi/steem-part-3-buy-and-transfer-steem-from-bittrex-to-steemit

Good luck in Steem
feel free to ask if any confusion

thats what i was looking for

the reverse side of the Asian metropolis

long back in a book i read about Pimatgol. now i understood it.
good information about pimatgol,

pictures are very lively

@slowwalker what you are feeling my friend is nostalgia. I get the same feeling walking past a place I grew up because of the special memories I had there now the place has been transformed to something that was a shadow of its former self.

hahaha
your feeling is as same as mine

seoul city, what a nice and lovely pics from the view

excellent post... thanks for sharing

Great photos and a very wonderful place. I really like how the streets are so clean. Thank you for posting this. I will follow you

Each photo talk me about history in each street, really good work man. Regards

Thank you so much

LIKE how they styled the trees with the color. The streets seem really pacefull and relax.
GoodJob.

amazing accumulation of great pictures a debt of gratitude is in order for this stunning post

hello simple and beautiful sharing your health :)

Hi slowwalker.. i read your post and your shots and content inspired me.. Thanx for talking about historic place

Thank you for reading

makes me go alive. good one slowwalker

You are welcome.. But no need of it coz you teach me a new word pimatgol and i knew its meaning escaping from horses and also i able to know about an old memorable place.. Can you plz tell me tha pimatgol is from which language?

beautiful and nostalgic

I know you must have planned to enjoy yourself

Such a lovely place..just like the one I saw on korean dramas.

A student is a wonderful memories, although mediocre money as long as we're with friends will be getting its own happiness, I never had it because I was a student ...
Great post..

your writing skill is too good and good explain nice post and amazing photography ...wish you best of luck .....

Thank you so much

This is si sad. History that has gone.

Unfortunately it's not like before where this street was alive, all because of globalization and new technology people prefer to isolate themselves with their smartphones to which they are dependent

Really like the way you are telling us your discovery and feeling !

thumbs up man

times changed and there were no more horses to evade.insadong looks pretty good in pictures though.

Seoul is amazing. A friend of mine has been wanting to take a trip with me their for a while. I just may have to. Great Photos and story. The wrapped trees are very unique.

Interesting post. When I see abandoned structures I feel a strange melancholy as well. For me, I think it's seeing all the history AND all the potential lost to the modern age.

It looks so different from the western world o:

There are lot of streets around the world that have history, but some people dont know about it. Great post my friend @slowwalker.

Thank you for comment

That's history for us

good friends, I really enjoy it, meet with friends, and eat together with friends feel very happy, and I'm happy to follow you here

Its the same with lot of towns, not just streets in Croatia. Young people leave them searching for a better life and Government don't want to do anything :/

lol
that happens in every place

The Insadong alley looks beautiful :)

Wow!!!so beautiful your photography , i want carry on your life.
and you next post sharing us, all the best

Thank you so much

There are 4 pages
Pages