Shaman Ceremony In Jeju Folk Museum, Korea

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

It was very difficult to live in Jeju island as much as Switzerland in medieval ages.
Eventhough Jeju island was so beautiful, living in Jeju was not easy due to the bad circumstances.

Soil was not so futile for cultivating and it was too windy for fishing.
Usually fishing was a job of male, so it was not rare that all male of one village were dead in the sea at same day because of ship wrecking.

I don't know it was coincidence there were fishing ships in the center of the museum hall.

P5060097.JPG

I took close shot.

P5060064.JPG

P5060059.JPG

So life of women in Jeju was so tough, they had to live with their kids without husband.

Very active Shamans ceremony was probably originated from those tragedies from the sea.
There were exhibited various ceremonies of Shaman around the museum as below.

P5060039.JPG

P5060049.JPG

P5060094.JPG

P5060112.JPG

Below are the tools for the Shaman's ceremony.

P5060114.JPG

There were even official level ceremony for safety

P5060117.JPG

P5060120.JPG

It had been said there were 3 kinds of many things in Jeu island, women, wind and stones.
Life was tough to live in Jeju island.

Their lives had been continued with the tears of women.

Up until now, that kinds fo ceremonies have been continued and became the cultural heritage of Jeju island.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Beautiful .. Thanks for the pictures
Look great trip, good for you
Thanks for sharing..

Never heard of Jeju island before :-) interesting article :-)

Jeju Island is in South Korea. I went on a tour to Jeju Island. Now, it is a beautiful tourist resort. Many tourist from South East Asia visits Jeju as part of their South Korean tour. I think life is not as tough as it used to be.

I google it right after reading post. It is added to must visit list. Thanks 😁

👍

Interesting topic, thanks for sharing. Never would have heard about this place otherwise!

Thank you for sharing. I was in Jeju a few years back. I was there with a group of people on a tour. It was very cold but we enjoyed the snow very much.

Hahaha
Spring and Fall are best season

Very interesting! I had no idea that Jeju Island was part of South Korea. Now I know. Thank you!

You're very difficult,,,I am Support your shot still a Supporter @slowwalker

It is very hard living there especially for women. So that means they can't remarry again when the husband dies. How do they survive in such place where the soil is not really that fertile and wind disturbing fishing

Was there other chance to marry again ?

hello @slowwalker best regards from the beginner and your post is very extraordinary, a beautiful plan with good plen master good job.

Meant to ask. If the husband is deceased, Is she allowed to marry again?

There must be no men left to marry again

This just goes to show the depth of the Chinese culture

Wow thats awesome. Jeju island, never heard of it but now I know. Tools are amazing. That art work that is displayed is mindblowing, they seem real. Wonderful post

**Their weakness is not be converted to their strength ** Great creativity from the Jeju, wonderful photography @slowwalker

The museum is very nice and really wonderful
Lamari like him is really something beautiful
Professional photography really

Thank you for your comment
I'm a beginner in Photo

this is amazing, a unique tradition

Well presented tradition. They put a lot of effort into building the museum and all the models.

Thank you for your comment

제주도민의 삶과
샤머니즘이 밀접한 관계가
있었나봅니다
어려서 시골에 굿하는
사람들이 많이 있었는데 요즘은
많이 사라진것 같아요

세상이 많이 변했으니까요

Lovely photos as usual. Life was very tough before and women had to live without husbands for many reasons.

Yes, women's life was tough through human history

What an exposure to some culture I knew nothing about. What a culture, the whole process is pathetic and emotionally touching. I can relate how hard it is to survive without a father cause I lost mine

father @ slowwalker your blog and post about this trip is very interesting.. Your camera is amazingly capable of providing photos with very bright images.the perfect shaman ceremony.if father @ slowwalker there is time stop by my blog. Thanks

very interesting - it is another world

어릴때는 동네에서 굿하는 걸 많이 본적이 잇는데
요즘은 보기 힘드네요
흔했던 것들을 박물관에 가서야 볼수 있다니

그렇게 되어 버렸네요

This is very sad. I am sorry to hear that people on Jeju island had to suffer a lot in the past! I hope the new generation will have a much better life and safer living condition.

This is a very good idea to have a folk museum that collect old customs and wisdom of past cultural practice. So, in this way young people will learn about their cultural heritage and understand about shaman ceremonies and their importance.

Young people in my country laugh at our old shaman ceremonies. They don’t understand why and how these ceremonies were parts of living in uncertain world. I think there is a meaning to everything, we just have to look for it!

Thank you for this very educational article.

All the best.

Thank you for your thoughtful comment

Thank you very much for your kind reply.
I am thinking of writing an email to the Minister of Culture here in Thailand about having something like what you have in Jeju.
Would you mind if I use your article as an example of how to preserve old belief systems and traditional ceremonies?
If we don’t start doing something now, I am afraid that the digital world will make next generation of Thai people becoming more like robots!

I live in Jeju but have not visited here yet. Living and traveling seem totally different. I also want to know about the history of Jeju. When I get to know Jeju more deeply, I will inform the Steemians.

Hi, Can you tell us where this is? It was very interesting. I wish we could live simply like this again. Minus the difficult soil, wind, stones, and losing husbands of course.

Hi @slowwalker I am resteemit your post.

Very interesting ceremony of jeju culture, thank you very much for your sharing to us, success always for you brother @slowwalker

제주도에 샤머니즘을 자세히 알 수 있는 박물관이 존재하네요. 제사 문화도 보이네요. 흥미롭게 잘 봤습니다.

감사합니다

Life always seemed hard for the women...

Thanks much for the visit today :)

Thank you for comment

maybe life on jeju island teaches us to be patient because with all patience can be overcome, for that we have to give appreciation that live there

Hmm Jeju Island..
an island that is booming, producing the best aloe vera for beauty.

For me, very interesting is the Asian food tables dishes. The sit on the ground and thats very interesting for me. When I was 2 years in South Pacific living with the natives together, they eat as well similar. Really more interesting as the western style. But I have still pain when I eat that way in my legs and back. :-)))

It must be such courage. Go to sea, knowing you have little chance of coming home.

A wonderful story. It is a pity these women, but the life of men on the island was not the most fun. Good luck to you and Love.

Замечательный рассказ. Очень жаль этих женщин, но и жизнь мужчин на острове была не самой веселой. Удачи Вам и Любви.

thank you so much

I can see the creators have put a lot work into the detail. This craving for perfection gave amaizing resoults. This little figures looks so much like a real life people. It is a good idea for a museum to use Genre scenes. You simply lean more that way. The and resoult looks fantastic.

Yes, they did a good job

I just love your posts. Everytime we can learn something from another culture. The story of Jeju makes me more thankful about what I have. Normally the men die in a war, but they needed that fish so much to survive that they had to take the dangerous risk. Just crazy, the thought that every day could be the last day with your husband or father. I really fall in love with your daily posts. Cant wait for tommorow. Have a nice day.

Thank you so much

Thank you so much for your qualitative posts. We need more of those to establish steemit in the future.

Fascinating stuff something that interest me a lot. Thanks for sharing, i'd not heard of the Jeju island 💯🐒

life is not bed of roses. you have to work hard to get the best result

That's all really interesting. I love your posts talking about a culture that is so far removed from mine. It's quite enlightening! :)

제주토속민속신앙의 한 장면을 모형으로 재현시켜놓은 것이군요.

그렇더군요

WOW....Amazing I Love it...

its look like an art

so it's true, Jeju has scarcity when it comes to men
does this mean there's much single women there?

still, Jeju is in my bucketlist
seems like a beautiful place to visit and enjoy fresh sea food

as for the shamans, I was surprised that the shamans in Korea were like what people call witches who cast spells on people and fortunetellers who can see the future ... but then I guess, I've seen too much Korean soap :D

Thank you so much for your comment

제주 사람에게는 굿이나 제사가 삶에서 아주 중요한 요소라고 합니다.
지금도 마을 굿이 있을 때에는 일도 안하고 음식 장만하고 의식을 지내고 그러는 마을이 몇이 남아 있다고 하더라구요.
제사상을 차리는 형식도 아주 다양하고, 육지와도 많이 다르고요.

이 박물관은 인형으로 꾸며놓아 더 볼만할 것 같네요^^

제주에 언제 굿구경하러 한번 가야 겠습니다

I'm sad to hear your story ..
How the women on jeju island provide for their children

Thank you so much

Soulfreedom. Beautiful my friend

Nice photos..

Interesting information.i did't hear about this island in my life.but now i have got an idea to visit.thank you

Congratulations @slowwalker!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 7 with $ 360,1
There are 2 pages
Pages