The meaning of the building of Chang Deck Goong : Soon Peong Moon and Dae Jo Jeon.

in #travel6 years ago

There are 4 Palaces in Seoul which had been built in Choson Dynasty.

Gyeong Bok Goong was built at first. Chang Deok Goong was build at second.
King Tae Jong, 3rd King of Choson, built Chang Deok Goong.

He was a 5th son of King Tae Jo who founded Choson dynasty. Even though Tae Jong did the best distinguished service for founding Choson Dynasty, his father, the very first King Tae Jo did not give him the king’s chair.

Fianally, King Tae Jong seized the Power through military coup, at that time he slaughtered several hundreds of officials who could be against his coup.

They were killed in Gyeong Bok Going.
After taking King’s chair, he ordered to build the new palace which was Chang Deok Goong.
In my guess, it would be not easy for hime to reign in Gyeong Bok Goong which was built by his father.

In this posting, I’d like to post the place of King and Queen.
As I posted before, Choson was built on the basis of Confucian philosophy.
In confucian society, the most important thing was the order. There must be the order in the world according to Confucian philosophy.

Between King and Subject,
Between husband and wife,
Between man and female,
Between Aged and Younger, …

When you visit Korea, it is not difficult to find how the old ages are respected.
Of course, this virtue is now diminishing, the thinking to respect the aged remains until now.

The interest thing I found out in Chang Deok Goong was the gate, name of Seon Pyeong Moon.

Seon Pyeong Moon was the entrance gate of the resident area of King and Queen.

The meaning of Seon Pyeong is ' broadenning the equality'.
It could be estimated that King and Queen are equal in this place.

In Confucian principle, Queen was not only a wife but also a Subject.
In this point of view, the naming of this gate had a special meaning in the relationship between King and Queen.

You can see the main building for King and Queen through Seon Pyeong Moon.

The name of King and Queen’s resident building is Dae Jo Jeon.

Dae Jo means ‘making big thing’, here big thing means a baby boy who will succeed in King’s chair.

Having a baby between King and Queen was very important to secure the legitimacy of King’s political power.
When Queen could not have a baby boy, King was supposed to have a baby with concubines.
But in these case, power struggles in Palace had been serious.

The tragedies in Choson Kingdom had been directly related with this problem.

Dae Jo Jeon was very beautiful but humble place.

The pics of below were scenery near Dae Jo Jeon

(water fell on the ground)

Behind Dae Jo Jeon, there was a gate to the Secret Garden.

PC230368.JPG

PC230382.JPG

We couldn’t enter into the Secret Garden, so we headed for Chang Gyeong Goong.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

of these historic buildings of your country always impress me colorful drawings ... this green and this red that seem very used colors ... I think. Thanks and happy new year @slowwalker

thank you for comment.
I wish you a happy new year

happy new year 💕

I congratulate all on the New Year !!! Health, love, joy and new exciting trips! May you have good luck! Always!!!
I also really love to travel here is my post
https://steemit.com/travel/@evgenya86/travel-with-me-2-prague-is-just-an-incredible-city-you-fall-in-love-with-it-at-first-sight

happy new year

happy new year

thanks

Hey @slowwalker great travel pictures. Wonder the Choson Dynasty kingdom included today's North Korea as well.

New Year Greetings :D

happy new year

South and North Korea had been one country for thousands of years

beautiful place...... informative post

Fabulous place!

Awesome post and great photos!

That is interesting! Thank you!

thank you so much

Hi brother @slowwalker
Every year you are fine and all parents are in Korea and also in all the world
Happy year brother and wish you happy days
And also a wonderful photography and a happy trip
We hope for some support at the beginning of the new year

nice pictures, and i just learnt some history about the for palaces of seoul. thanks for sharing

thank you for reading

Very beautiful historical place. Excellent traveling story. Wow!! Photographs are so amazing. I like Secret Garden very much.

I like This history about the for palaces of seoul . thanks for sharing
Happy new year 🎈🎆

thank you for reading

This is beautiful! I've always loved Korea in all ramifications. Their buildings, schools, traditions, culture, the way they look, oh most importantly, their food. Oh such a foodie I am. I hope to visit Korea some day. But now that I can't, I'll just rely on your post. Please make more post about food. Thanks 😀 @slowwalker

I wish your dream come true

very useful information Reading this article gets me more. thank you

thank you for visiting

Just awesome photography.

happy new year my friend!

happy new year

Can i taIking about steemit With you?

You give me Your facebook id or instragram plz.

Wowww @slowwalker wish u happy new year

Great posrt thank you so much for sharing

Actually this a great photography ..Happy new year..

Changgyeong Gung is the one of the most inspiring places i ever visited..!
And btw. your photos are amazing!

Yes, I'll post on Changgyeong Gung later

Awesome photo I like it hope for the best HAppy new year I always wait for your posts dear @slowwalker

very good post i love it

thank you so much

Very useful information Reading this article gets me more. thank you

A television series talk about Jang Yeong-sil (Song Il-gook), a popular scientist of Joseon in the 15th century. Born as a slave but with the remarkable talent and the profound passion for astronomy, he was known by King Sejong (Kim Sang-kyung) and was recommended to the court. Jang Yeong-sil had a lot of contributions for the science-technology of Joseon, he has left many great inventions such as the water clock, the sundial, the astronomical instruments, the rain gauge and also many research on weaponry.

Yes, that's right.
at last, Jang yeong sil was executed for his mistake in making King's vehicle

Wow! very nice photography..very nice travel... thanks for sharing this post...

thank you so much

Most welcome

Happy new year! ^^

yes,
happy new year

I record the text on the computer.
I will guide me when I visit KOREA:)
My goal is to win Steemitte and then to travel. I hope it will be real. Many thanks for sharing. I follow you fondly

good luck

THANK YOU MY FRIEND :)

Korea There are many historical places. Korea has been great from the past. I found everything from your outstanding position. Increasingly increasing my interest in korea. Someday I will visit korea and visit the historic site. Thank you very much for sharing @slowwalker.

good story buddies, I salute you friend, I see other Korean people make a post about steem but you are always about my culture amazed with your friends, and thank you for sharing information about the culture that is in korea

thank you so much fo reading

we share about us our country or our area is very nice my friends often tell like your story. but your story is more perfect

thank you so much

Yes you are welcome

this was the best travel to be, travel with a great history to know about. if the king is still alive at this generation I think it could build a great Kingdom Hall.

thanks for sharing sir @slowwalker

every king would want his own kingdom

oh..i don't know that, maybe it is a remembrance for them as being a king or queen. :)

beautiful picture good work dear

thank you so much

You are welcome

BTW, before I forgot everything.

HAPPY HAPPY AND BLESSED NEW YEAR SIR.

Interesting your article, especially the respect that still remains in that community with respect to the ages of its inhabitants, in terms of the buildings the photographs explain how dedicated they were when the construction was done plus the time to build for four different reigns , I hope to see the photos of that forbidden garden some time, I will be waiting for another of your publications and I will be a follower I hope that you also take a look at my post, happy year 2018

thank you for your comment

@slowwalker This post is not only to be read, this post is motivating, it gives you tools to continue growing, and that is interesting, particularly since I am in Steemit I get up every day at 4 am I review the posts published On the rise, New, Trend, and I review some post from the people I am following and those who follow me and every time I notice the difference in my positive observations that are making me grow, I am learning to read these publications and this is becoming a good habit, thanks for sharing, I would love you to visit my publications to see if you get something interesting in them and would be pleasant for me, thank you very much and Happy New Year 2018

I really salute with you you are a fond of culture, a good story @slowwalker

thank you

same as my friends, I am very happy if you want to visit my blog because I really need your help and I am very happy if you want to visit my blog, thank you

happy new year!

thank you
happy new year

wow this is good i love them pictures place and added to my traval list thanks

yes.
You will not regret

thanks for your sharing , let me know more about the history of korea and more about confucians in korea. To some extent, South Korea is a good inheritance of Confucianism, which I think is even better than the present of China.elder people should be respected by the young people .

hahaha.
I think there the respect for the olds remains in china

yeah , that must be .

Happy new year to you!

happy new year

이곳에서 글을 접하게 되는군요...
경복궁의 열주는 소나무중 으뜸인 금강송으로 사용되었다고 합니다
금강송은 강원도가 주 생산지인데 조선시대 이동수단이 없었음에도
금강송이 사용되었다는 것이 놀랍지 않으신지요...
지금에야 차로 이동할 수 있었지만 조선시대는 어떻게 이동을 했을까요 ...

네 우리 문화와 역사를 소개하기 위해 오래전 부터 해오던 일 입니다.

금강송을 옮기는 것이 어마어마하게 어려웠을 것이고 그만큼 정성이 들어 있었겠지요

nice pic @slowwalker happy new year goodluck

thank you

Please vote my post

Hi..vote me plis
Thank

;))

Thank you very very much
hopefully we become good friends greetings know me very happy

Very interesting pictures!
I love reading about history like this.
I guess it wasn't easy being female in that time 🤔

I think so
it was tough time for female in Choson Dynasty

wow after reading your posts i have liked to study about korean history :)

Thank you so much

Good post. I am following for more. Thank you for keeping it quality. I hope i will have some good supporters one day.

Even I've been lived in Seoul quite long time though, I couldn't get the palaces around much. Thanks for the notes @slowwalker I'll try to walk around in this month with my friends. awesome!

thank you
have a nice time

There are 2 pages
Pages