The Restaurant Ceremony In Yeongsanjae Ritual, Seoul, Korea

in #travel6 years ago

Taking a meal is very important training way in Buddhism.
I heard several times that the dinner manner in Buddhism was not easy from my friend who had participated in the temple stay.

Having a meal was an important ceremony in the Yeongsanjae Ritual.
I didn’t expect the luncheon was a part of the yeongsanjae ritual, more over, it looked like very important part of the ritual.

Before beginning ceremony, they told that taking a photo of the scene of the monks eating meal in the stage was strictly prohibited.

The name of the ceremony was the restaurant ceremony.

At first, they introduce the monks and the nuns attending this ritual.

_6060697.JPG

And they sat at the stage and meals were prepared for distribution.

_6060642.JPG

The bowls for the meal were distributed.
One set of the bowls were composed of 4 bowls, one for the rice, one for the stew and 2 for the side dishes.
As you know, all monks and nuns must be strict vegetarians.

_6060699.JPG

There were complicated processes before having a meal

Dances with drum

_6060689.JPG

_6060688.JPG

_6060671.JPG

Dances with Bara, Buddhist music instrument

_6060675.JPG

Music and songs

_6060677.JPG

2 nuns were sitting at the center of the stage.
They danced slowly, that scenery reminded me of the Japanese traditional dance.
Their dance seemed to have specific meanings.

_6060727.JPG

_6060653.JPG

_6060702.JPG

_6060706.JPG

_6060746.JPG

_6060753.JPG

The process of the restaurant ceremony was so complicated, and it took so long time.
Nuns dance was the most impressive during the restaurant ceremony

Finally all meals were distributed.

_6060707.JPG

_6060718.JPG

_6060722.JPG

_6060725.JPG

_6060728.JPG

It was already past 1 pm.

After the restaurant ceremony, more than 4 hours ceremony was scheduled.
The Yeongsanjae ritual was performed all day long.

I could not stay longer. I was hungry and exhausted.
I left later part of the ceremony for next mission.

Sort:  

Hello, @slowwalker. Tasteem, a platform for restaurant reviews, is finally open. We run review contests, and reward our participants with upvotes as well as the SBD from our posts. We are aware of your awesome activities here on Steemit, and would like to invite you to participate! If you resteem our post announcing the official launch of Tasteem, we’ll show our appreciation by upvoting your post. If you could write a review on Tasteem, even better!

Wishing you and Steemit all the best, Tasteem

Love the story and also the pictures

The Yeongsanjae ritual @slowwalker is interesting to watch because of the way they make a ritual even on eating their foods. It is a colorful ritual. I think they don't use glasses for drinking, they use bowls too.

Hahaha
That's right

Truly a strange ritual I have never heard of before
Each country has a ritual that differs from that of the other country
Really special photography

That is a very long ritual. But it looks like it is a beautiful and very enjoyable one :D Once again not failing to portrait the scene perfectly :D Such an amazing job!

@slowwalker, Absolutely brilliant consideration and never know & see before restaurant ceremony In Yeongsanjae ritual. It's various experience to mine. Sri Lankan Buddhism haven't play any music instruments or dance ceremonies.
Nuns dance slowly and awesome. After read your blog I watched Korean Ceremony In Yeongsanjae Ritual for looked live it. It's so impressive and traditional dance seems. Other Bara dances also nice to see my eyes. Nice you decided to shared.

Interesting.
I'd like to see Buddhist ceremony in Sri Lanka

Oh what an honour to be present at the ceremony. To see the food being blessed and shared with all is humbling. What was your next mission?

Ummm.
Looking around Korean culture and history.
Next must be about Korean Buddhism, may be

I hope there is more about Korean Buddhism.

The discipline of the Buddhist Monk I have always found very impressive. I really love this religion of peace and wisdom. Frankly I don't think I've ever met a Buddhist I didn't like! And one more comment, why did that big bowl of kimchi in the second to last photo have me start salivating like a dog! Thanks for sharing and thank you so much for your support with my efforts here on Steemit as well. I'm off to Belfast Ireland Friday, then Prague Shortly after. Have a great day!- Dan

Thank you for comment
Good luck to your travel

Thank you for sharing your story @slowwalker.
Eating is the nourishing action that deserves our full attention :)

Yes, you are right

Nice ceremony and ritual did not know that culture friend, thank you for sharing with us

Thank you for reading

My goodness, this was beautiful. Truly a long ceremony, but so meaningful. Thank you for sharing this with us.

Thank you.
It was very long lol

I greet the very nice form of the message

Wow that means that you are limited to some actions with the photos because of their culture, likewise still very interesting its culture, in general the photos I loved thanks for bringing this excellent work!

If movies taught me anything its that all those guys are martial arts masters

You such a beautiful religion. I love the culture you have shared lately with us on the religious group. The dresses are so nice and perculiar too. Thanks for today @slowwalker

Your photos, in the best way, convey the emotions of the participants of this ceremony. Good luck to you and Love.

Ваши фото, самым лучшим образом, передают эмоции участников этой церемонии. Удачи Вам и Любви.

That looks like a really interesting ceremony! I'm sure I would be hungry by the time it was over, but it's good to have that kind of experience.

The ceremony really looks so cool, it looks like what I watch in movies. The decoration and the costumes for the restaurant ceremony are so beautiful. Looks like Buddhist love ceremonies?

It looks such a serene and a holistic ritual, also signifying how important food is to a human body and so much of respect to what that nurtures us.
You are very lucky to witness all of these things. I am sure all the time you spent here is worthwhile.

Thank you.
It was a nice opportunity for me

I love seeing these glimpses in to your culture @slowwalker. Beautiful photography as always.

Thank you so much.
I need to learn photography from you

Interesting culture, wish to visit korea!

so beautiful pictures 😍

I'm heading to South Korea (Seoul, Busan, Jeju) in a couple of weeks' time and @slowwalker you've just made me even more excited!

Thanks for sharing, sounds like an interesting ceremoney to have witnessed and you too some great pics.