The Statues outside of Gyeongju National Museum.

in #travel6 years ago

It was very cold when I arrived at Gyeongju city. The cold weather was likely the last puch of the winter season. As soon as arriving at Gyeongju city, I headed for the national museum.

_2040001.JPG

As I wrote in previous posting, Gyeongju city had been the capital of Shilla dynasty for more than 1000 years. But the appearance of Gyeongju city looked like just a small city except the tombs which were scattered here and there.

The entrance fee of the national museum was free. Free is always good. As entering into the museum, I could see lots of stone statues on the ground of the museum.

I’d like to post on the statues which were displayed on the ground of the museum

Almost of statues were related to Buddhism. While looking at these statues, I could think once more the meaning of Buddhism in this age.

Many statues were found in pieces scattered under the ground. The museum collected those scattered pieces, so unfortunately we don’t know the origins and the history of those statues.

There were 3 kinds of statues on the ground.

The first was towers having perfect appearance. They have perfect appearance, but nobody knows it’s exact history. The museum located the towers on the small hill. The towers very well suited the pines and the hills.

_2040004.JPG

_2040007.JPG
_2040026.JPG

In the other side, there were the pieces of towers and monuments. It seemed that they were found in scattered pieces.

_2040005.JPG

_2040009.JPG

_2040010.JPG

_2040012.JPG

_2040014.JPG

There were Buddha statues near the hill. The Buddha statues were also found in scattered here and there.

_2040022.JPG

one of the statue was found in perfect condition

In some case, they could find only the head of the statue.

_2040023.JPG

_2040024.JPG

The statue of Buddha of Shilla dynasty seemed to be influenced by Gandara Style of India.
Especially at the early age of Shilla dynasty, the style of statue was similar to that of Gandara style

In fact Gandara was a starting point of Buddhist art, but unfortunately almost of relics of Buddhism were destroyed by Taliban.

Anyway It is marvelous for me that Gandara and Shilla had the common cultural connection.

Thank You for reading

Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

Incredible, Even in my region they found ancient statues that were cut into pieces and scattered in the ground. Sometimes myths make a bad end.

the entire place looks very peaceful after all gautam buddha preached peace with whole universe

Looks great

once again...the trees...in your images....tell such a beautiful story. felt..and appreciated!!!!

great explanation of the museum , and nice shots ,, I already heard about some terrible harsh damages that Taliban and Daesh did , they destroyes many historical places unfortunately :(
by the way thanks ! I really enjoy reading your blog

너무 도 상세하게 우리나라의 역사에 대해서 설명도 해주시니 전세계
나라 사람 이 모이는 이곳 스팀 잇 에서의 당신은 애국자이십니다.
고맙습니다.

This is a very informative post. Through your post I have learnt Alot from the Koreans.

I like Buddha statues

Very amazing arhitecture @slowwalker. Great work thank you for sharing quality and interesting content😊😊😊every day!

Wow! Beautiful pictures.

I think Museums are one of the finest places you can find in a state or a country.

Beautiful, history filled and rich in memories..

images(2).jpeg

thanks for sharing I used to produce replicas of historical buddha pieces
OR2012.jpgEb1015_a.jpg
stop my blog and let me know if you'd like to see some of the 100,000 I took over the last 16 years....
images_064.jpg

이번에는 경주를 가셨군요. ^^ 업비트에서 스팀. 스달 지갑이 열렸네요.

I like it Great shoot

It is the history of a very interesting, I love to read the history of like this, and you are the people who genius in the study the history as I read your post is yesterday about the history also, it is a very interesting in meticulous. thank you have to share hopefully a good day.

why "In fact Gandara was a starting point of Buddhist art, but unfortunately almost of relics of Buddhism were destroyed by Taliban" every nation people have right of worship! cool man ceautiful and old is gold place !

Your post is filled with so much information that I feel like I’m there right now. Thanks for the insightful post, I’ll visit someday.

The place shown in the picture just awesome. I wish i would visit there.

Hey, @slowwalker !!! Nice Post.
I always Expecting such type of informative post on your blog.

Amazing! Wonderful pictures. I think Museums are one of the finest spots you can discover in a state or a nation. Magnificent, history filled and rich in recollections. These relics of Buddha and various noteworthy focuses display the important preparing of Buddhism "everlasting is never driving forward". Most likely a cool show to explore. I anticipate seeing a more unmistakable measure of your photos from it. everything considered, about Korean obvious, I like it, your photograph is marvelous.
'.gif

I love your post mate, the pictures are awesome and the place overflow of history and events.

It looks like there is a smell of serenity and the portal to time travel is open :)

Very interesting post..
You are the boss
57100106.jpg

Really nice post! Your pics are also super cool!!! :)

I just love steemit. So many people that educates other people. Keep it up brother

these relics of Buddha and and other monuments show the basic teaching of Buddhism "everlasting is the never lasting"..and they bear the evidences to show us the proud history that we have had in the past :)

They are beautiful 😄

Why? In fact, Gandara was a starting point for Buddhist art, but unfortunately almost all the remains of Buddhism were destroyed by the Taliban. "All peoples have the right to worship!" "Cool and old man is a place of gold!

know the statues that could be a relic. but do not worship a statue, because the statue is man-made as well.

Very nic photography.

Agreed

Me fascinan tus fotografías y tus historias

woo amazing veiw and nice scultures

It's always fun and educating when you travel to a place and explore their historical facts.

It will be more interesting when artifacts are there in place and well preserved.

The museum is good place to learn about this city and know more about the culture of the people.

Enjoy your tour.

thanks for sharing such beautiful places! and beautiful light you caught!

These statues are very much similar to the statues found in our country.As you said that may be due to the Gandara style of India.It was the influential style even for the architecture of our country.So through these things it proves that there had been very good relationships among these countries during the past
-cheers-

intresting pictures to behold

nice post.awsome photography.
good work.

I like the color and tone the photos in this post! Is it still cold there? It' almost summer here in the Philippines. Weather has been so hot lately. Anyway, can't wait to learn more about history thru your articles. And I agree, free entance fee on museums is awesome! 😁

Great landscape

amazing photography

Looks like a cool museum to explore. I look forward to seeing more of your pictures from it. It is neat how Indian Buddhism influenced the stone carvings of the Shilla.

i dont know how... i earn more but i know you all are help me... i also earn... so help me

still about corean historical, i like it, your photo are very good, thank you for shared @slowwalker

beautiful statues of my friends .. and museum worthy of my friend's visit

Your post make me so interested to visit the place....

안녕하세요. 한국에 살아요?

경주, 정말 마음 편해지는 곳인 것 같아요~~ 시간이 된다면 한달쯤 살아보고 싶네요~

a very memorable trip, visiting the museum is the desire of someone who loves history like you @slowwalker and good luck always my friend

I like your photography style. This is so beautiful I really following you.

There are 4 pages
Pages