You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Traveler's tips: How to negotiate with locals

in #travel7 years ago

My problem is I leave near the border so when we go down to Mexico these stand want your money. A problem I have learned over the years, since I speak Spanish, but no one I have gone with does. I learned if I'm with people who speak English only, stick with English even if I also understand Spanish, don't let the sellers know you understand them speaking to others who work there as well, or they do rip you off. Listen to what they say in both languages, sometimes they do actually say their purchase price specially if you stick to one language whether it be English or Spanish. From what I have seen they use the language you don't speak in thinking you do not know it.

Sort:  

That is also great advice! Sometimes they slip on a flat surface lol.
My Colombian friend told me that she is not allowed to speak in Cartagena, because people can feel that her dialect is a little different, and they will try to rip her off. So yeah, you either speak only one language or another.