Beginner Hike in the Oregon Gorge

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

9F00D440-51DC-47C6-A7AF-8C0604ECD34B.jpeg

There is nothing much more beautiful then the Oregon Gorge. It is about a 35 minute drive from Portland, Oregon.
This particular hike I am sharing with you is called Angel’s Rest. It is about a 1.5 mile hike up the trail. This can be dangerous and keep in mind the Gorge is not Disney Land. I would NOT suggest bringing kids to the top as there are cliffs.
4539C2F8-FEAB-42CB-8AAB-5309A2A1BCA5.jpeg
As a healthy adult, I would rate this a pretty easy hike. You will see Waterfalls, beautiful trees, bright green everywhere, and the top you overlook the Gorge. It is one of the most beautiful shorter hikes I have ever been on. Lots is jam packed in a short but uphill walk.

Tips:

  1. wear good pair of hiking shoes/boots. Please, make sure they fit. I hear so many stories of people getting too small, don’t do that.
  2. Bring water and some energy bars.
  3. Take pictures
  4. Gorge is open again spring 2018 because some asshole kid started it on fire.
  5. Have fun
    92211FF5-7877-49BC-83C2-EAA91B7263BC.jpeg
    All original photography by me.
Sort:  

I'm so glad the fire stopped. It was pretty horrific to say the least. I'm glad we get to see it in its glory once more. ⛰️🏕🏞⛰️