Worlds Largest Forest in a City Portland, Oregon

in #travel6 years ago

EBD60976-6C9C-4C1E-9929-090A598FC9B9.jpeg

I am married to Portland, Oregon, It was my first true love. Although it has changed a lot, it is still a place I am proud to call home. We have the largest forests within city limits in the world.
The photos I am sharing with you today is Washington Park. There are beautiful trails, Hoyt Arboretum, memorials and beautiful overlooks of the mountains and city.
The photo above was specifically on the ‘Red Wood’ trail. I encourage to check out the entire area again and again because it never gets old. I feel so much gratitude that a forest like this is only 1.5 miles from my apartment. This is the ultimate easy escape and reset button.
DBBAC05D-BEFA-406B-B4B8-66939573330B.jpeg
What to wear? Throughout the years I have collected lots of all weather gear. I feel in the summer, you can get away with a stable pair of sneakers. I prefer my Merrill hiking shoes all year round, I got water proof ones for rainy times. They have way more ankle support and are designed to walk in this kind of terrain. I am super clumsy so I cannot mess around. I also love my hydration pack back pack. It is a backpack you have a water sack in and a tube. Mine is from Columbia and it can fill up to 2 liters of water. It is easy to drink out of as walking. It is also convenient to have room for protein bars, phone, wallet and keys. The pack is pretty small so not fitting the world in there. You would be kind of dumb to get lost in Washington Park as there are plenty of signs. It is easy and family friendly, so don’t pack like you are going forever. 4335F39F-D448-4878-9F01-27DA3C3362EC.jpeg
Well, I hope you have fun on your adventure. Rather you live here and have your head up your ass and never go or are visiting. I strongly recommend getting up there.
Let me know in comments below how it was!

Sort:  

Washington Park just got prettier