A Night in Hangzhou China (杭州市), One of China’s Biggest and Oldest Cities.

in #travel5 years ago

I only had a night here on a brief layover to another city, and it was impressive.

I went to Dalian a couple of weeks ago to spend Christmas with some of my friends and meet new people from Canada. Unfortunately, LiShui, the town I live in now, doesn’t have an airport and the train distance would take too long even with bullet trains. My time was limited and I some how managed to score the Friday off work so I could catch one of the few flights.


(same as the cover photo but less blurry.)

After being a little city for a few months I forgot how amazing big buildings and bright lights are. Lishui is beautiful in its own unique way but certainly lacks that big city feel I didn’t think I would miss until I had it back. LiSHui to Hangzhou by high-speed train is about 2.5 hours.

I didn’t have a lot of time to explore the city this trip but I did wander around the area my hotel is in. My hotel was a bit off the beaten path but still, I guess it’s still in the city. After rushing from work and skipping lunch to catch the train I got to my room and I was famished. So I went looking for something to eat.


(It even has building with holes in them, I did mange to get the full view.)


(What comes to mind when you see it? A Lilly about to flower or something else?)


(Just outside my hotel)

Well, not to sound like a homesick westerner, but I was happy to see some familiar restaurants. LiSHui has nearly nothing when it comes to the western foods I miss. So, stumbling upon a Papa John’s and Subway beside each other I was happily shocked. I knew once I got to Dalian all my favourite foods would there but still I couldn’t resist, knowing in Dalian I would indulge in foods even more exotic. Like a homemade Nepalese vegetarian/halal buffet and north Chinese style dumplings. Well, my trip to Dalian I may write about later, but I didn’t take many photos and I have been writing about Dalian for years ... we’ll see.


(Eventually, no matter where you come from or where you end up, you will miss food from your traditional life.)


(One of the many bars/restaurants in the complex.)

While waiting at the security check at the airport I couldn’t help but be amused by this girl’s jacket. Very ’emo’ and I wondered if she knew what it said. Anyways, it gave me something to look at while I waited.

And that was my night in Hangzhou. Memorable and far too short. I’m already working on plans to spend a few days there so I can truly experience what this amazing city has to offer.

Sort:  

Hahaha nothing beats the random sayings and photos on clothing here. That's a great catch.

I've been living in Hangzhou for the past two years. It's a great little city. Has a lot of western amenities but it's still not overly populated with foreigners. I can still use Chinese and experience some culture. You'll have to check out the lake next time you're here.

I'm in one of the big Hangzhou wechat groups led by Kyle, a Canadian, Do you know that group, it's Chinese English group tat talks about anything. I'm live not too far from Hangzhou so I will be back to explore it more. Does the lake freeze over in the winter enough to go skating?

Nah the only Hangzhou groups I'm in are led by a Chinese dude named Jake. And no way! That would be awesome. The winters here are super mild. Not really cold at all. It's snowed a few times but ice is pretty rare. With that said, another Canadian guy has started a local hockey team here so there's that!

Ah... this is the Alibaba city, right?

Yes it is. I'm told the city is very grateful for Alibaba making it there headquarters.

For sure because many got rich from the shares and drive real estate prices up among other things.

city looks popping

Yes, I think it will have good night life too. Next time I will check out more places.

China has so many things to offer especially to foreigners but yes true, you will always miss all the good things you grew up with. Can't wait to explore China someday too! I'm also looking at Shenzhen. =)

One night stand in a city?! that's Fucking Darkness!