Travel Venice, Italy in Style

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Venice is the capital of northern Italy's Veneto region, and is built on more than 100 small islands in a lagoon in the Adriatic Sea. For those of you who haven't experienced such a unique destination, it is interesting to note that there are NO roads. Just canals. Fun Fact- There are more than 400 bridges in Venice!

IMG_4924.JPG

The central square, Piazza San Marco, contains St. Mark's Basilica, which is tiled with Byzantine mosaics. If you are looking for the grandest view of Venice, the Campanile bell tower offers a tremendous glimpse of the city!

IMG_4946.JPG

The gondolas is the most romantic and famous means of transportation. It is a little expensive to ride the gondola, but is definitely something everyone has to experience at least once while visiting Venice!

IMG_4933.JPG

The best way of getting around Venice, is either by walking, or by renting a boat. If driving, you can park your motor vehicle at the entrance to the city, thanks to the Causeway, and then enter the historic city by foot.

IMG_4931.JPG

Venice felt like a fairy-tale to me.... Have you ever been to Disneyland? I have, and this city reminded me of the feeling I got while exploring Disneyland! It is so unlike anything you can imagine.... No noise of cars, just lots, and I mean, LOTS, of people. After all, it is a famous hot spot. Another thing I remember, was the crazy HEAT. I could hardly handle it. I would go from one building to another, scouting out shade. From local water fountains, I would drench myself in water. Other than that, I loved Venice!

IMG_4925.JPG

Venice has many shops around the canals. Most of which were layered with MASKS!!! Venetian masks are a centuries-old tradition in Venice. The masks are typically worn during the Carnival (Carnival of Venice), but have been used on many other occasions in history. I was told that many individuals would wear a mask as a device for hiding the wearer's identity and social status, allowing the wearer to act more freely in social scenarios. It was useful for a variety of purposes, some of which were criminal, and others just personal, such as romantic encounters. Below are a few pictures of my favorite masks.

IMG_4942.JPG

Do any of you own a Venetian mask?

IMG_4943.JPG

To wrap up my post, I truly believe that travelling is not something you're good at. It's something you do. Like breathing.

Your opinions are so important to me. Please take a moment of your time and comment on my post. Have any of you been to Venice? What were your thoughts of the place?

Find me on Instagram to follow more of my adventures! https://www.instagram.com/soul.searching.traveler/

Best wishes,

Stephanie

Sort:  

Italy looks very beautiful .. Traveling is something that people should experience while they have the chance :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Great post and a great city !!! I would love to go to Venice for the carnival one day, it would be such a cool experience .

Yes, I totally agree!!! That would be a blast. Definitely on my bucket list :D

@soul.searching I've recognized that when it appears to be like terrible, just stepping absent for your moment would make all the primary difference on the earth.

I totally agree with you! <3 Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures with us:)

Thank you for reading my post and commenting!

Best wishes to you,

Stephanie

@soul.searching Thanks for your work sir.... Love it.

Congratulations @soul.searching! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Venice one of the most beautiful places to visit in whole Italy nice post

Hi @sweecee, Yes I did take all the photos myself. I only "spiced" a few of them up a bit as I like to post how I "saw" it.... or I guess how it made me feel. Does that make sense? But thank you for your opinion, I will keep it in mind for next time <3

That's too bad there was a sewage problem when you were there! I remember the first time I wanted to see Venice, it was flooded... which is why I decided to go in the Summertime. But jeez, was it HOT!

Best wishes to you,

Stephanie

Yes, very humid... I only survived one day and one night there. Honestly, I am embarrassed about that as you would expect someone visiting to want to stay much longer... but the heat was so incredible. I was backpacking and camping outside... so there was no break for me, which is why I left after exploring as much as I could