Monochrome Series: North-Coast of the Scottish Highlands

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Last september I did the so-called 'North-Coast 500'. A gorgeous route through the more remote parts of Scotland, namely the Scottish Highlands. Last week I showed some pictures of the train rides from London to Inverness and Inverness to Glasgow in the form of 'Through a Dirty Train Window' photo series. But the largest part of the month of our travels through Scotland were done by car.

As the name of the route suggests, there's a lot of coast involved. And I love all kinds of beaches. Tropical ones, with lots of palm trees, but also my 'own' Dutch ones, with dunes, wild waters and strong winds. (I tend to go to the beach in autumn, when the winds are strong and I can treat myself with hot chocolate milk right after a short walk.)

P9056448.jpg

Scottish beaches are pearls in their own right. At times they DO feel tropical, due to their light / pinkish sand and very very blue waters. Rocks will separate most beaches from the villages laying behind them. I have some shots of Scottish beaches that could also have been taken in the Bahamas.

P9056441.jpg

One of our stops was on a beach behind soft curved green dunes, which I'd not seen before in Scotland. The sky was amazing: clouds formed lines and banes, and an abstract painting like image was shaped. I looked through my photo archives this afternoon and selected two pictures of that specific afternoon. I now might hang those together on the wall in my living room as a sort of 'Dyptych', a duo of two images.

dyptych.jpg

I'm in the process of creating some exciting travel stories and photography series for Steemit. As Scotland is fresh on my mind I will start sharing more photo series on Scotland first. Expect a lot of beaches and roads and sheep! And rain! It's such an exciting country, and might soon go back to see and experience more.

Although, I once met a wise men who told me: "You're still too young to be retracing your steps." So maybe I'll probable be staring at my Scotland pictures instead wile planning trips to other countries.

All pictures on steemit.com/@soyrosa are created and edited by me, Rosanne Dubbeld, 2001-2018. Contact me if you want to discuss licensing or collaborations on creative projects :-)

Sort:  

Nice post

Spamming comments is frowned upon by the community.

Comment spam is currently defined by @steemcleaners as:

  • 10 or more generic comments per day that are not in response to a question posed by the post or comment. “Thanks”, “Great Post!”, “Great Photo!”, “Good”, “Like”, “Nice”, “Wow”, “Cute”, “Follow me”, etc.

  • Commenting on old posts to hide self up-votes or a voting trail.

  • Copy/Paste comments that serve no purpose or the purpose is self promotion (including copying and pasting similar comments in rotating way).

  • Comments that inform the contributor that they have been up upvoted, resteemed, or flagged when the curator does not actually upvote, resteem, or flag the post.

  • Fishing/farming votes by using multiple accounts to comment on posts by known comment curators.

  • Unsolicited and off topic referral links.

Continued comment spamming may result in action from the cheetah bot.

More Info: Abuse Guide - 2017.

beautiful!!!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=soyrosa
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=monochrome-series-north-coast-of-the-scottish-highlands


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I like the abstract quality of your photos and the story to accompany them, great post @soyrosa!

Thanks a lot @natureofbeing, for checking out and appreciating my photography and also for following me! :-)

Beautiful foggy coast photos.

That's a cool project to have Rosa!
Keep on traveling and, yes, retrace your steps as that's half of the fun!
Cheers!

Yes, I'm enjoying myself a lot! Travelling is awesome, and I feel blessed as a photographer to be able to capture those moments and look back at them even years later :-)

Your photos are stunning!!

Thanks a lot Marianne! :D

Good pictures of a incredible nature :-D!!!!

Wow, these are stunning!! I especially love the dyptych.

Thank you! :-) That's a pretty decent comment :-)

Woah rosa!! Such amazing shots.. cant wait to see wat u bring next visually.

Oh, I'm photo editing right now, and it makes me SO happy!

This looks amazing, I can almost feel the wind and hear the waves. I look forward to your travel stories:)

Thank you! Oh, yes, the wind! I feel so alive when it's windy and I'm close to the sea :-)

wow love the cloud pics soyrosa

With love

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist