[Travel Update] Lisbon has a LOT of street art - THE WOMEN II

in #travel6 years ago

I received some amazing replies on my last post about women and women's bodies, and I have not even written a 'perfect' and well-thought piece about it yet. It appears it is a subject some of us really would love to talk more about though!

It will take me some time, but I do look forward to write more about the subject. Thanks for sharing your interest in the subject and your thoughts about it @introspector, @bejaunt, @vimma, @teamgirlpowa for creating a platform of like-minded people and @steemsugars for being the place where we strive to 'get more women onto Steemit and into Crypto'. Last but not least, a special thanks to @ladiesofsteemit for curating that post and introducing me on the project page :-)

I am looking forward to seeing more of the ladies getting a proper introduction on Steemit so we all can follow them!

More women?

Back to the topic. I am posting a few more women I've encountered on the walls of buildings in Lisbon. Why not?! Let's celebrate some more Lisbon street art women. Seriously, every time I believe I'm done editing my Lisbon shots (mind you, I was there only for a week) my eye notices more shots I like and want to share with you.

P2010702.jpg
[She seems to preach some ZEN into our lives, looking at us all wise and wearing an awesome sweater. Of course, street art wouldn't be street art if someone thought they could alter it.]

P1300489.jpg
[Another brave looking woman, staring at us from a building in the street where I shot all the Azulejos. (She was actually the reason I wanted to walk that street.) The artist uses a special mix of painting and carving into brick.]

P1300424.jpg
[This woman might visualise being/feeling a target. Don't we all feel like this sometimes? :-) I adore the black and white illustration with only yellow and red to create focus on the subject.]

P1300465.jpg
[A very well-known political reference. I love the flower that grows out of her riffle.]

P1300500.jpg
[I did not realise while selecting these 5 pictures, but they seem to share a political/societal theme. Or should that not surprise me as that's what art is meant for anyway?]


All pictures on steemit.com/@soyrosa are created and edited by me, Rosanne Dubbeld, 2005-2018. Contact me if you want to discuss licensing or collaborations on creative projects :-)

Sort:  

Very nic video.

Yes. I like

Really great street art. Thank you for sharing. The political and social commentary in these works seems Banksy inspired. Do you know who the artists are? I would love to know.

ah .. I fell in love with it!

I fell in love with that one too!

May I ask you what device are you using when you make a pic? Thanks

I mostly use my Olympus OMD-EM5 @truestories! :-)

Thank you :-)

Oooh no, I missed your posts when it was still within the 7 days 😭 But I will try to make sure that doesn't happen again! Looking forward to your post and your thoughts!

Oh this is so fantastic! The women depicted in street art are my favorite focus for photos when I'm in ripe places too! My faves so far are Bristol and Berlin...

<3

Following you now <3

Thank you for commenting! I would LOVE to see some of your photos of women in street art - and Berlin is not too far for me, hope to get back there soon ;-)