The Story of a Trip in Asia part #1 : Arrival in New Delhi and ride to Kolar

in #travel8 years ago

Let's go for a trip in Asia!

I decided to quit my job and appartement for a 6 months trip around Asia. Working in exchange for food and a bed.
Backpack filled 1/3rd with camera stuff and lets Goooo.

1st stop in India for 3 months.
I arrived in New Delhi a 4th of January 2014. Very cold and wet.
I found a hotel in Karol Bagh (overcrowded place really!)

As you can see even the Rickshaw walaas where freezing!

I was waiting for an answer from hosts to know where i will go volunteering.
I used Workaway social network to do so..
But nobody answered for 4 days... Had to stay in that crazy capital without knowing when an where I will have to go.
Finally a school answered to my calls and then i found a train to go to Bangalore, then a Bus to Kolar (2 hours east from Bangalore.)

The trip took 45 hours at all!!! Traveling by train in India is something. (couldn't take any pictures from the inside of the train. I was next to Prisoners and the police occupied the entire wagon i was in. XD.
Here is just one i could have made on the sunset.

42 hours of train is something. You meet people in their way of live. Spent hours to talk with them, eat, sleep with them.
You can see how the nature changes when you go south. It's not a drop like with a plane.
Something I wanted to share:
Toilets on the train.... mhhhhh... especially if you are not used of washing your butt with your left hand, a little water and no soap! You learn after that how to eat with your only right hand i can promise you.

Well. After these experiences, i finally reached Bangalore main Railwaystation. Just need to find my bus lol.

(picture taken from "The Hindu" local journal.)
Hopefully, indian people are very kind and helpfull. An old women showed me the way. Then another one and then...
Everybody wants to help you. Even if they don't know. They wanna help... So I spent 1 hour of asking people for the right bus... Lucky for me at the end I found it by myself...

I took that kind of bus that arrives at Kolar. A 75'000 inhabitants. No foreigners. Typical indian city.
We were 4 volunteers. The only white people in whole city.

Please follow the part #2 if you want to learn more about this experience.

I'm also open for questions if you are interested of traveling in a such way... don't hesitate.

See ya soon!

Sort:  

Nice work. Thank you for sharing. I always wanted to go to India. I think it would be hard for me to take small children. This gives me some insight. Cheers.