The End of Steem-Hikers

in #travel5 years ago

Steem-Hikers were formed at the beginning of 2018 as an ambitious project of two Steemians, @saunter and @ceybiicien. It was supposed to be a blog reporting on our hitchhiking trip around the world, as well as preparations for it. However, after a year and a half of reporting on our adventures in Iceland and other countries, after evaluating the assumptions and practices, it is time to close this chapter.

Autor: @saunter

Over the past year and a half we have been fired, seen the Large Hadron Collider, tried a real Swiss fondue, worked with plants in the Netherlands. Then we flew completely blindly to Iceland, with no work and no place to live. After we managed to find accommodation and livelihood, we started exploring the island, including the junction of Europe and America, where the first parliament in the world was established, we took a bath in a hot geothermal river, we listened to a concert of a traditional Icelandic male choir in a volcanic crater, We sailed to the islands, where most of the city recently burnt down in lava, spent the night in a car in a canyon, hunting the aurora, went around the Westfjords with three analog cameras, and above all we had a peaceful life in Reykjavík.

Since the first post, the idea of the blog and travel coverage has changed. I became the only author writing. Charlie handed it over to me. With time I realized that I do not want to describe every stage of the journey, every day or every kilometer. More than a description, I want to focus on experiencing what is in front of us. At the same time, my fascination with photography grew. In addition, I did not feel that this is a blog of two people, and at the same time I did not feel that it is my personal story. It was as if the idea of Steem-Hikers was no longer up to date. So today I'm closing it.

This does not mean, however, that together with @cebiicien we are not going on the road! Or even the fact that I'm disappearing from Steem. However, the profile of the relationship may be completely different, or perhaps quite similar to the last Steem-Hikers posts. I don't know that. I want it to work out naturally. I want these to be non-binding stories, not in-depth reports, which I planned beforehand (well, unless I feel like it, although today I think I don't have the skills and knowledge to do it properly). I want to allow myself to take short forms, and above all to focus on photography and storytelling with images. Today I know that I rather do not want to overshare too much. What shape it will eventually take, I have no idea! We'll see!

So where will you be able to read me or see what I'll capture in the pictures? Although I could do it on my @saunter account, I couldn't help but open more accounts on Steem, haha! So, If you're interested, follow my new account – @dharma-bum. I'll probably be publishing the most up-to-date pictures on Instagram. The reason for this is basically more interaction and easier contact with friends and family, and quite a pleasant environment for around-the-photographic content on Instagram. I'll leave Steem to long forms. I initially planned to publish here everything with Instagram at the same time through share2steem, but the service has stopped working and it doesn't look like it's going to be reactivated. And the manual cross-posting would be too laborious.

Thanks to everyone for reading Steem-Hikers! I'm not saying goodbye, because I'm not going anywhere. I invite you to the new profile if you're interested in our adventure!

Oh, and by the way, we're starting TODAY!


hikers2.png

@Dharma Bum

Hitch-hiking powered by Steem!

Sort:  

@dharma-bum Pachnie mi to Jack'iem Kerouac'iem :D

Congratulations @steem-hikers! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @steem-hikers! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!