Making Giraffe Friends for Life

in #travel6 years ago


Attachment-1 (65).jpeg

This was my first time hanging out with giraffes and they are such gentle giants. I wish I had more time with them now looking back. They were so tall! I know, I know. Giraffes right? Seeing one up close was phenomenal thinking about how small they made me feel and now I know what it feels like to meet a center for the Los Angeles Lakers.

Attachment-1 (67).jpeg

They can live up to 25 years in the wild and up to 40 years in captivity. Their long necks keep them safe by helping them be the ultimate lookout hero for the herd. They are very social animals and may travel up to 15 in a herd.

Attachment-1 (64).jpeg

Giraffes eat up to 45 kgs of leaves per day helping them stay hydrated so they only drink water every few days. They're herbivores so their long necks help them reach the leaves high up in the trees. For us, we were feeding them Chinese long beans which I hope tastes like the leaves they eat in the wild. I love my new giraffe friends!

Attachment-1 (66).jpeg

Authored & Photographed by:

@stewsak

Please follow my "Stewsak Fanbase" @ steemauto.com to share a piece of the curation on all of my posts.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great pictures! There's something so noble about giraffes.

It was my first time hanging out with giraffes and I learned how gentle they are that day :) Thanks for coming by and have an awesome rest of the week.

Congratulations @stewsak! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!