Trip to Croatia - From crenulated fortifications to winding valleys

in #travel6 years ago

I have visited several places around the world but nothing has been more enticing than Croatia. The summer climate of the place coupled with the turquoise beaches is sure to be the perfect escapade for every traveler. The magnificent city gates and the fortifications reflect an Italian style with a punch of Slavic architecture.

The places that I loved the most


The city that tops the list of the favorite places in Croatia is Motovun and it is really a jewel. Once I climbed up the Motovun Hill, I walked along its streets and got some mesmerizing glimpses of the Mirna valley. If you are a foody then you would definitely enjoy the free tastings that you will get from many local shops.

After my stay in Motovun, I went to Korcula. This marble-clad town of Croatia is a must visit if you want to taste the best wines in Croatia.

The next on my list was Zadar. The first thing that occurred to me after visiting this beautiful place is that it is a perfect mélange of history and style. The stoic churches are a must visit. After this I went to Trogir. A trip to Croatia can never be complete without visiting Trogir – the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Croatia. The narrow lanes of the city full of Italian pizzerias coupled with the Romanesque architecture left me in awe.

I always wanted to visit the Roman amphitheatre in Pula and after I did, I was filled with amazement on seeing the mighty colonnades. If you are a nature-lover like me, then a visit to Hvar is a must. The shady alleyways and the medieval frontages are what I loved the most. There are some magnificent vineyards too.

I ended my trip by visiting Split, the perfect spot for a beach vacation. The trip gave me so many good memories that I want to come back and explore the place even more.

Food items that were worth a try


The most amazing and unique food that I found on my trip to the Dalmatian coast was the Octopus salad.

Visiting Croatia and not trying the grilled fish of the place would have been a sin. I tasted some sardines in Split and trust me, they were the best ones I had in my entire life. Being a wine lover, Croatia gave me some of the best wines although the beers were equally good. I would not go into the details of each of these delicacies but some other foods that you must try are Peca, Skradin Risotto, black risotto, fuzi, fish paprikas and salami.

Trying the famous Sangria was also one of the best experiences.

The adventures that will remain etched in my memory forever


On visiting Hvar, I had climbed on one of the cannons that lines the forts and thus I got the opportunity of capturing a mesmerizing picture of the entire town. One of the best things that I did on my trip to Croatia was cycling around the Mljet National Park. Visiting Split was one of the best decisions that I took, the reason being you can get access to various islands from there. I took a boat trip from there and it is one of the unforgettable experiences I had.

Croatia, being a coastal country, can offer everything at the same time – ranging from historical adventures to natural escapades. So if you want to visit a place where you can lose yourself in the beauty of nature and mysterious fortresses, what else can be better than Croatia!

Sort:  

Great pictures, especially I liked the food. Keep it up, I'm gonna subscribe

Thanks a lot. I will be posting some more posts from my trip. :)

nice photo.thanx very much.Have you ever traveled to Iran?

No, but I would love to.

Congratulations @susweta12! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @susweta12! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!