You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me #84 : The Ancient City of Ephesus

in #travel7 years ago

I'm leaning on being agnostic, but I think it's a pretty grey area, or a gradient. I was brought up in loose Buddhist background but I don't agree nor consider myself to align with that school of thought either. Later on, it became more and more clear to me that there is no religion out there that I can fully put my faith into. The very idea of having to rely on faith and not logic really deters me from having any religions affinity!

Sort:  

Well...actually Buddhism in its ultimate form isn't faith based.... It's actually logic based and somewhat agnostic as no creator being is posited as such.
But I understand what you are both saying...even in Buddhism there is a tendency to deify the Buddha in some places even though he himself strongly discouraged it.
I could give an example of such logic but don't want to be overly rude by going on too long ( since I am interrupting already :)

You have a point there. Religions have a tendency to be rigid and closed-minded. I know of a person who preached that true religion is tending to the poor and the widows.