Tamales Love

in #travel5 years ago

This last June I got to have an experience of a life time when I got to visit Mexico for the first time. I appreciate everything I have learned about their culture and way of life. I was beyond humbled by the love and affection I got from every single person I met.

One of my favorite experience was with this woman in the photo. She's my "adopted" Tia (Aunt in Spanish). Her love for food runs thick into their families veins and it shows in the love she puts into preparing each meal. As I sat on the ledge I watched her quickly wrap each tamale and throw it into the pan for cooking. Her precision drew me in and entrapped me. There's something beautiful about someone learning something to the point where they don't even have to think about it while doing it.

The leaves you see in the photo are Plantain leaves from a Banana tree. They use them to wrap the Tamale in so they don't get dry and hard. They also use a corn husks as wraps as well. The tamale she is preparing is made of Masa (corn/hominy). The Plantain wrap gives the tamale a sweeter, stronger taste and is also tougher than the husked wrapped tamales. They usually pair green beans with the Plantain Tamales and salsa and a meat with the corn husk tamales.

Tia was pretty mad at me for taking these pictures of her. She kept say "No puede, no mi gusta, daniella. No las fotos!". I just smiled and shrugged and kept on snapping away. My mother-in-law told her "no puedes detenerla ella está decidida", which means "you can't stop her, she's too determined". I had a good laugh at that one; because she was right I wasn't going to stop until I got the perfect captures.

I miss these people tremendously and I would be lying if I said I didn't cry like a big baby when I had to leave. I've met a part of me that loves Mexico and begs me to stay. In theory it's where I left most of my heart and Soul... no need to worry though because I will be back soon enough; while eating the delicious food and accepting all the love and kindness that is pushed towards me.

I miss you Mexico, until next time, la vida loca.

fullsizeoutput_369.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_371.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_74c.jpeg

DSC_0274.JPG

En junio pasado, tuve la oportunidad de vivir una experiencia única en mi vida cuando visité México por primera vez. Aprecio todo lo que he aprendido sobre su cultura y forma de vida. Estaba más que humillado por el amor y el afecto que recibí de cada persona que conocí.

Una de mis experiencias favoritas fue con esta mujer en la foto. Ella es mi "adoptada" Tia. Su amor por la comida se adentra en las venas de sus familias y se nota en el amor que pone en preparar cada comida. Cuando me senté en el borde, la observé envolver rápidamente cada tamal y tirarlo a la sartén para cocinar. Su precisión me atrajo y me atrapó. Hay algo hermoso en que alguien aprende algo hasta el punto de que ni siquiera tienen que pensar en ello mientras lo hacen.

Las hojas que ves en la foto son hojas de plátano de un árbol de plátano. Los usan para envolver el Tamale para que no se sequen ni se endurezcan. También utilizan una cáscara de maíz como envolturas también. El tamal que ella está preparando está hecho de Masa. La envoltura de plátano le da al tamal un sabor más dulce y fuerte, y también es más resistente que los tamales envueltos con cáscara. Por lo general, combinan frijoles verdes con los tamales de plátano y salsa y una carne con tamales de cáscara de maíz.

Tia estaba muy enojada conmigo por tomarle estas fotos. Ella siguió diciendo "No puede, no mi gusta, daniella. ¡No las fotos!". Solo sonreí y me encogí de hombros y seguí alejándome. Mi suegra le dijo "no puedes detenerla ella está decidida", que significa "no puedes detenerla, está demasiado decidida". Me reí mucho de eso; porque ella tenía razón, no iba a parar hasta que obtuviera las capturas perfectas.

Extraño tremendamente a estas personas y estaría mintiendo si dijera que no lloré como un bebé grande cuando tuve que irme. Conocí a una parte de mí que ama a México y me ruega que me quede. En teoría, es donde dejé la mayor parte de mi corazón y mi Alma ... no tengo por qué preocuparme porque volveré pronto; mientras come la deliciosa comida y acepta todo el amor y la amabilidad que se me acerca.

Te extraño México, hasta la próxima, la vida loca.