You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bali - The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

in #travel6 years ago

Thank your sharing. I live in Zimbabwe and I have experienced the situation of tourists who come with utterly wrong preconceptions about the people here and the places. I think tourism in its strict commercial sense provides less value than that which tourists would want. I say this because I have had times when I took tourists to those unmapped places and they met real people living their everyday lives in contrast to pretending cons who show them what is expected. If you want to see a real Zimbabwean dance performance I can assure the high street in a tourist destination is NOT the ideal place. The employed tour guide can't wait to finish his job, get his commission and tip whilst a resident will show you something different, perhaps for longer. Hotel food is nice but whatever they serve as traditional there doesn't taste as good whats made by old granny on a fire oven. Every place has a spirit that one can capture and it becomes a part of you for life, immersion is one way to suck up this spirit selectively and also have memories that last beyond the pictures and the evidence that one went there.