Buddhist Temple Shrine- Chiang Mai, Thailand

in #travel6 years ago

Temples in Thailand range from relatively simple shrines to very elaborate. There are 30 temples in the old walled city section of Chiang Mai and over 300 in Chiang Mai Province. I've probably seen around 50 to 75 temples over the last three years, but this is the only one I've seen with the translucent Buddhas. Clearly that doesn't mean there are no more with the glass type statues, but I could suspect this is a less common shrine style.

Temples can be a challange to photograph as they often are partially lit with window light making it easy to get blown-out areas around the edges. Photographing the gold Buddhas can also produce blown out areas, especially outdoors. Some temples allow flash photography and some do not. Tripods and drones are also an ask first item, the White temple in Chiang Rai doesn't allow drone photography but most temples will allow it if you ask.

glasstemple.jpg

he interior of many are not lit

Sort:  

Very nice, I am in Bangkok right now and just posted also 👍indeed the lighting is rough in most, your photo here is amazing!

Thanks very much, I have recently found a rural chedi that has a mural of the life of Buddha, there is a Buddha in a chair in the center so shooting a pano of the entire mural cannot be done from one central position. I'm going to try to move my tripod position around the 150 foot mural at the same distance from the wall and physically create the overlaps so photoshop can stitch it together. No idea if this will work, but as soon as we get a pause in the storms we're getting in CNX, I'll take my motorcycle back out there. I love Wat Pho and Wat Arun in BKK. Best regards!

Sounds like a solid plan! Leaving for the airport so will check out Wat Pho and Wat Arun next trip if not in Chiang Mai looking for jobs and housing!