My Journey to The World's Largest Buddhist Temple

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Borobudur Temple

This Is What It Looks Like Up There

Did you know that the world’s largest buddhist temple is actually located at Central Java, Indonesia? I would have guessed it’s somewhere in China! After this visit to Prambanan Temple to understand the concept of maya, I dedicated at least half of the next new day to explore this underrated candi (in comparison to Angkor Wat). Here, you can expect less tourists, less local kids pestering you to buy hippie bracelets, and a bit less sun; at least for me that was. The history of this place is amazing, so I would recommend hiring a good and honest guide at the site.

Getting there

In my opinion, the best way to reach Borobudur is by car / taxi.

Distance from d’Omah Hotel (recommended stay) is 40 minutes – 1 hour.

Fees: Rp 200,000 = RM67 (1 way) / RM134 (return trip)

What you need to know before your visit

Attire: You can wear a revealing sleeveless top, but you must cover your legs. If you really feel like wearing shorts, sarongs are available for rent. Wear proper shoes if you prefer, and sunscreen (always).

Opening hours: 6 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Fees: Rp 190,000 / RM63 per entrance. Tour Guide: RM30 per hour.

Here’s how my journey up, above and beyond the large and wide candi looks like:

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

#2. NO SCRATCHING! :lol:

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

Borobudur Temple

Sort:  

Beautiful post and lovely photos dear Cindy! I love this post here!! I am now following you!! I have been to Singapore few years ago at an advertising festival. Keep up the good work!! Upvoted. LOVE, Ruxandra