Ladakh 2018 Diaries - Page 1 - The roadtrip to come

in #travel6 years ago

I've been waiting for August for quite a few months now. It is the start of winter in the Himalayas and the high altitude plains of Ladakh and the Changtang regions. I can only imagine the snow covered mountain passes and the peaks, the white blanket on sand and grass alike for now. But in just over two weeks, I will be heading to the mountains and Ladakh. It is time for another roadtrip. A month on the road covering some of the highest passes of the Himalayas and Ladakh, taking roads that offer some absolutely stunning views of nature at her best and being at one with the motorcycle.

A harmonious merger of man, machine and nature.

I've awaited for this roadtrip for over a year now. 2017 was taken away by racing on weekends, a fractured scaphoid followed by a surgery and the wait for rehab and physio. 2018 has been a slow wait for the seasons to pass and August to come knocking. To mention that I am looking forward to the roadtrip is a bit of an understatement. I am eager, excited, glad, happy... a plethora of emotions come when I see that the date is not very far away now.

IMG_0968-3000.jpg

On the shores of the lake Pangong Tso. Shot in the summer of 2013 during my solo roadtrip.

I have been to Ladakh before. In summer 2013, I rode all the way to the place and back. (Check the link below for the blog and photos of that adventure). It was one heck of a ride and I did it solo over 28 days. I came back from that journey a changed person. To this day, I consider that journey to be the most defining thing I ever did for myself. It made me wiser, more attuned, empathetic and gave me a sense of freedom and joy. Since then, my perceptions and my way of looking at things and my attitude has changed for the better.

I look forward to old and familiar places, a few new ones and adventures that will remain in memory as long as I can remember.


The first thing to do is to buy the essential requirements for a journey like this. But I've already got most of the things I need. My riding gear is sorted out, as is my travel equipment. Over years, I have collected the essential equipments, gear and things I would need for roadtrips and they have served me in good stead.

IMG_20180722_124211-01.jpeg

All the gear, no idea. A minimal take at everything I need for the road.

At first look, it might be a lot of gear, but it is the bare minimum I need. I will talk about the gear and my preparation as I write up on adventure more over the days.

IMG_20180722_121605_354.jpg

Sunday moments be like these! 22 days and counting down.

Check out my post on my Ladakh adventure from 2013 via the link below:

Motorcycling India


Read some of my travel stories via the links below:

Up above the Arctic Circle - Tromso and the Northern Lights

A solo backpacking trip across the UK

Cycling 500km across Europe: Dtube

Another solo roadtrip - Pictures of the Western Ghats, meeting fellow Steemians and a blast of a ride!

A solo roadtrip across the western Ghats and meeting my favorite dog!

Exploring God’s Own Country on a Motorcycle – Dtube

500km of cycling across Europe - A photolog


Check out some of my photologs via the links below:

Candid Motorcycle Photos from Motorbeurs Utrecht

Photos of the legendary Assen Circuit in Netherlands - The Cathedral of Speed


Read some of my opinion posts via the links below:

Opinions - Tourist or Traveler?

Opinions - The price of overwhelming freedom

Opinions - Fuck it, let's go!

Opinions - The similarity between motorcycle racers and fighter pilots

Opinions - Going fast to slow down time

Opinions - We need to travel to develop empathy

Opinions - The importance of anchors in our lives

Opinions - Our toys have not changed. They have only gotten bigger

Opinions - Of Mortal Dreams and Motorcycles

Opinions - Of motorcycles and love stories

Of Scuba Diving and Motorcycle Racers - A slow life between fast lanes?


Read some of the letters my bike writes on a regular basis:

Hope writes a letter - Crazy fridays and I find out I am not a car person

Hope writes a letter - Hello world! I am Hope!


Check out some of my popular posts below:

Motorcycle Stories - How I got into Motorcycle racing

A high-speed crash and life lessons

Year One of Racing in Images

Introduction Post - My introduction for Steemit


That's it for now, cheers!
Signature.png

batmanbikerlogo.png

Sort:  

Wow dude, awesome! This road trip will be incredible no doubt!

That picture of the mountains and lake is amazing, what an experience that will be. I am yet to do a proper road trip on my bike, but I have time :)

Also, I love your doctor helmet, that is awesome! VR46 g.o.a.t 😀👊✊

Great post batz, keep it up and enjoy every second!

I'm looking forward to this trip. It's been a while since I have gone on a journey like this.

I love the helmet too! It is the AGV K3SV 5 continents. I got the helmet because I like the name! It symbolizes travel and for me, that's the motivation. Blue visor looks great eh! Got viva la figa on it as well :D

Awesome dude, I can’t wait to hear about how it was - you will have the best time no doubt!

Yes that is an amazing helmet! What a great name and amazing Rossi livery... haha amazing you have to have viva la figa on there! 😂👊✊ the blue visor looks amazing! I have an all black hjc with a tinted visor, I would love to put a blue one like yours on mine

The road trips definitely change you!! I have experienced myself, done bike trips to ladakh, Spiti Lahaul, Bhutan, and all the trips has made me a stronger person , more empathetic than before. have an amazing safe ride.
more power to you.

Indeed. Travel like this is always an experience that leaves indelible marks on the soul. It changes one for the better! Glad to know you've done some amazing adventures on two wheels!

In reply to your below post:

We had a Bangalore meetup in Feb this year. Not sure when the next one is going to be. You'll get to know when it happens! :)

P.S I was checking for bangalore meets and came to your profile, I belong to banaglore and jaipur, let me know if thr are any meetup planned, would love to be a part of it!

Sùper emocionantes son cada uno de tus viajes, excelente post, aunque no tenga la oportunidad de realizar esos viajes al leer tus post y ver tus bellas imágenes captadas de la naturaleza es como poder vivirlas, ya estoy ansiosa por leerte pronto.