Desperate Housewife flies alone with kids: What I should have done...

in #travel8 years ago

So I recently returned home to SV from the east coast.  It was a horrendously long flight and my children were pretty awful.  I didn't really take the time to prepare to entertain my squirmy children beforehand, and I regretted it.  Most of my days are a total freak show and preparation for anything doesn't usually happen.  But I came up with a few thoughts (after the fact) that may be helpful to those parents out there.

Keeping any child entertained for a few hours is no small feat. And being in a claustrophobic plane ups the challenge. Ah if only I had a private jet…then I wouldn’t have these challenges, but I need a few more upvotes on here to finance that :)  So since I'm forced to fly coach on an airline (poor me) I am sharing some ideas on how to keep our little ones occupied and therefore keeping us sane!

1. Lots of snacks and preferably those that take your baby a long time to eat. Remember to put these in an easily accessible spot because nothing’s worse than digging through bags under your seat while holding a baby. Those who have done it know its pretty impossible!

2. Visit the dollar store or the dollar bin at Target. Pick out some new and cheap toys. Do Not bring your baby’s regular toys. You will lose them. Either you little one will chuck them rows away or they’ll get lost any way possible. Which reminds me…always bring extras of everything!

3. Wrap these toys like presents. Your baby will love the paper, the task of unwrapping and even the tape. I haven’t tried this but I’ve heard people say that babies love masking tape! So use that and pretend its Christmas in July (that is a thing right?!)

4. Fill a wipes case with little scraps of fabric. They will enjoy pulling them out and if you lose some, no worries!

5. Finally, there are electronics. Many people say their children enjoy Baby Einstein. My younger daughter isn’t really into that yet but I can't wait for that day! (with my first I avoided introducing electronics but oh how it has changed with the second lol) 

Any parent's out there flying with their little monsters for the first time? 

#travelwithkids #travel #flying  #steemit #steem

Sort:  

I upvoted You