How to lose 15 pounds in a week: hike the Inca Trail

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

And get food poisoning while you are there....but that isn't as interesting as the rest of the trip (though it did help in the weight loss category)!

Proof that we made it...

Anyway, a few months ago I got to leave my post as a housewife AND leave my children (with my parents) for a 10 day journey to Peru! For as long as I can remember, Machu Picchu has been on my bucket list and I can't even remember when this dream started. Maybe it all began while I sat in my basement as a girl in small-town, western Pennsylvania watching an Indiana Jones flick or maybe it was when I started taking Spanish in middle school and fell in love with the language and culture of Latin countries.

Fast forward a couple decades. I got my husband to agree on the trip and we began the preparations. We decided on the 4 day Inca trail to Machu Picchu with Llama Path Tour company. We flew into Lima and then on to Cusco, and from there we headed out on the trail. I could write separate posts about Lima and Cusco, so to keep the length manageable, I'll just talk about the trail for now. 

We only brought our backpacks (filled to the brim) with supplies for the trail and clothes for the rest of the trek. If I could do it over again, I would not have invested in the backpack and just hired the porters to carry all of our stuff...but more on that later.  My husband obsessed over reading packing list for the trail and insisted that we buy everything that we might need.  When it was all said and done I wished we would have saved some of the money and not bought hiking pants and shoes (since I'll never wear them again).   We got all packed up and we began the first day at the obscene hour of 4 a.m.  Little did I know that most of our mornings would begin that early or earlier (I'm not a morning person).  We met our tour guide and group all bleary eyed and groggy.  They packed us onto a charter bus and drove into the sunrise.  We got out at the beginning of the trail.  Km 82 is what the guides called it.  It was basically just a sign in the middle of nowhere.  

The first day is when we realized that we were carrying WAY too much.  Most of our tour participants were smarter and not as cheap as we were and decided to hire a full porter.  The porters carry everyone's food, water, and tents.  That was included in the tour price, but you could hire a porter to carry your extra things, i.e. clothes, sleeping mats, sleeping bags and anything else you may have brought along.  Luckily the amazing porters were able to take on a bit more weight and we emptied half our packs for them to carry.  Side note:  The  porters are incredible.  They carry 50 pounds (at least) on their backs and they literally run the trail.  While all of us slow, pathetic hikers walk.  These porter run along slippery rocks, up and down huge steps and into all types of climates.  They are simply impressive.  Most of them are even wearing sandals or some  other unsuitable footwear.  

The days are filled with lots and lots of walking, but plenty of time to rest along the way when you get to stop at the spectacular Incan ruins that dot the trail.  Each tour group walks at a different pace and adheres to a slightly different schedule, but most are pretty similar.  Wake up at a ridiculously early hour (greeted by your porter with a mug of coca tea), walk all morning, then meet for lunch (the porters have run ahead of you and set up camp and have lunch ready for you when you arrive), rest, continue walking and meet up for dinner and then lights out.  The trail is about 28 miles and starts at 9,000 ft in elevation and reaches 13,779 ft at its highest point.  You pass through many different climates all in one day.  So wearing and packing multiple layers is a must.  I swear I wore at least 6 variations of the same outfit in one day.  


Here we are after reaching the highest elevation.  The second day for us was the most physically exhausting.  You hike straight up hill for hours and hours.  But for me, this was one of the most rewarding parts of the trip. It is so fulfilling to do something so challenging, mentally and physically.  

The second night is when most of the camp got food poisoning.  We still aren't sure what everyone ate that made us sick, but all I know is that my sleep was interrupted all night long with the sounds of tent zippers ripping open and other horrific sounds that I would like to forget.  Somehow I didn't get sick until I got to Machu Picchu (not sure how I got that lucky)

While half of our of group was zombie walking along the trail, I spent the 3rd day with my healthy group members and enjoyed the ruins and majestic views.  

The final and 4th day is the the happiest day! (except that we had to wake up at 3:30 a.m. and basically run to the sun gate so we could be the first group to get a picture of Machu Picchu) Pictures do not really do it justice. The place is so incredible in real life. You must go there and see it for yourself! You also feel really good about yourself when you have hiked for days to arrive! So the sum it all up: This trip was the most adventurous and physically challenging thing I've ever done. (I've clearly never really camped or hiked in my life before) But it was also so rewarding and pretty life changing and I'm not just talking about the weight loss. lol And here are a few things I learned: Take a freaking pillow with you (I can not sleep on a rolled up t-shirt) wear moisture wicking clothing, hire a porter to carry most of your stuff, be careful of what you eat, be aware of the bathrooms and soak up every moment because it's probably a once-in-a-lifetime experience. If you've read this far...thank you!! And if you have any questions, please feel free to ask!! I'm happy to elaborate on anything about our trip.

#thehousewifetravels #Inca #Peru #steemit

Sort:  

this amazing experiencie you are lucky

Hilarious! I am told that it'a quite a tiring trip so sometimes locals will suggest you to take coke? It's not cocaine that is pharmaceutically manufactured (and it's bad, obviously), it's a plant. I dont know if it's true or not.

Well they didn't give us cocaine in the powder form but they gave us plenty of coca tea and even gave us coca leaves to chew on (all the locals do this). I really thought it did help with the altitude.

Good to know. I don't know if I could survive there lol. Thank you for the information