You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Try it with your left-hand..!

in #travel4 years ago (edited)

Until recently (a few years ago, I can't remember exactly) the rail traffic in Austria still ran on the left side. I am there now, but before, I worked in Canada for decades, and there, wherever more than one track, the rail traffic is also on the left.
I also lived in Sweden in the sixties, when they finally switched road traffic from left to right. Subsequently, there were some head-on collisions on rural roads. In Stockholm, the interchange at Slussen became a nightmare to navigate.
Here is a fun report from the day this change happened: Switching from left- to right-hand-side driving was a national ordeal
Just seen this myself, since I was curious: they are massively re-building Slussen, but won't be finished until 2025.

Sort:  

At the time, I got an international driver's license to drive a car in Cape Town and later in Sydney, but I didn't, I was too afraid of myself that I couldn't switch mentally and cause an accident. Have you ever driven in left-hand traffic?