The Quitter Who Traveled The World For 7 Years

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


I’m an adventurer, thrill seeker, and life enthusiast with a shorter life expectancy than your mother’s cat - Follow my never-ending journey.



I've always been known as a serial quitter.

I quit two universities, quit a wrestling team, quit the Dutch Marine Corps, and many other things.

In 2011 I reinvented myself as an adventurer, in order to prove to myself and others that I can stick with something.

In the years that followed I walked from England to Rome, cycled from Holland to Istanbul, spent several months leading pack horses across the Canadian wilderness, and paddled the entire Mississippi river in a kayak in 110 days.

I slept in graveyards, ate raw eggs, walked across Spain three times, was chased by feral dogs in Romania, and stood face to face with a grizzly bear in Canada.

I started my travels for somewhat dysfunctional reasons, but over time I discovered that trying all these new things had a surprising benefit…

To find out more...


Follow me on Steemit @thisishowidie
Follow me via my website henkvanderklok.com
Watch my TEDx Talk The Surprising Benefit Of Trying Something New
A big thank you to all my followers and supporters for enjoying the content and helping me sustain my continuous adventures & explorations.


Have you done something new today?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @thisishowidie I love what you've got up here so far! Looking forward to seeing the rest of your travels.

Hi @arqetype, glad you like it man. Just doing some introductory blogging now. Will start a 6000 km walk to Jerusalem in April, which I will do with absolutely no money!

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Smaq6kVMbuI

Thanks Robot or Cheetah. That's my TEDx talk. Definitely watch it if you want to see more. Cheers

That's why I became a flight attendant! :)

Great way to explore the world cheap.

You got a 0.97% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @thisishowidie!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

We also started 7 years ago !!!