Going Solo- Wonder to Wander

in #travel4 years ago (edited)

Wonder to Wander

J. R. R. Tolkien once wrote “Not all who wander are lost”

I’m convinced he never really lost anything...because I couldn’t disagree more.

I’ve been gone for a minute. I lost my steam. I got bogged down by my career and allowed it to define me instead of the other way around. So I booked a flight to Dubai, and although I knew exactly where I was going, I was in search of something- my soul.

I embarked on my first solo trip! Initially I’ll admit I was consumed with trepidation. With the current state of affairs of our country, I didn’t know what to expect. I was a women, going to the middle east ALONE.

To my surprise, I was welcomed with open arms, and stares. Apparently in Dubai the black culture is a rare commodity, so everywhere I went I was stopped for photos. Somewhere in between the camera flashes, and smiles I began to see something that I had personally questioned for so long- my worth.

I learned this from my Dubai trip: If you travel to another country, try and immerse yourself in the culture. Feel it, bast in it, glow in it, taste it...RESPECT IT. You might be surprised at what it reflects back at you. You might not only SEE yourself, but FIND yourself

Tell me about your wonder to wander. What solo trips have you taken? Which places speak to your soul?