Trips and Tips: Rome, the eternal city – Part II

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1926-1.jpg

I don’t know, if you read my former post on Rome; I happen to believe that this city is one of the few that you must visit even once in your life! It is easy to reach, very nice to walk around, while the Romans are very passionate people!

So, to continue my wonderings in this beautiful city, the second walk I recommend incorporates the Vatican and Castelo di Sant Angelo region. You must leave some extra time to visit the St Peter’s Church and its museum. It is certainly worth seeing the Sistine Chapel. Also, make sure you don’t miss the statue The Pietaby Michelangelo, inside St Peter’s Church!

P1010127.JPG

received_458951761149428.jpeg

received_458952304482707.jpeg

received_458952171149387.jpeg

received_458951461149458.jpeg

20150111_120741.jpg

P1010072.JPG

20170705_185724.jpg

Once you finish the visit to the Vatican, you can walk south, next to the River Tiber, and you may find yourself in a region called Trastevere. This is a picturesque neighbourhood, with many restaurants, shops and nice architecture. We usually eat at theTaverna Trilussa (Via Del Politeama, 21-23, Trastevere): they have a vast choice of Roman dishes (Ravioli Mimosa is very interesting) and a very long wine list. One of the most exquisite restaurants – totally a must visit!

IMG_2473.JPG

received_458952654482672.jpeg

received_458952367816034.jpeg

IMG_2046.jpg

P1010069.JPG

20150113_205734.jpg

South of Trastevere, as you walk by the river, there is a flea market (on Via Appia), open on Sundays. It is very big and has a lot of stuff for people interested in used clothes, furniture, motorbikes etc.

20160109_112009.jpg

Now, the third walk I recommend incorporates Pantheon, Piazza Navona and to the north the Piazza del Popolo and Villa Borghese. If you take a walk behind the Pantheon, you will find a small Piazza and a coffee shop called Caffe Sant’ Eustachio. It is said they have the best coffee in Rome. We always buy some to bring at home. In the same area, you will find Giolitti (Via Uffici del Vicario, 40), where they serve a great variety of ice creams. In this area (Via di Campo Marzio and then north to Via di Ripetta) there are a lot of nice shops. Try the perfumes of Profumum di Roma (Via Ripetta 248). Also, look for the Piazza Campo dei Fiorri. There is a guy selling law-priced cashmere clothes from the East! He is the only one – it is impossible to miss him!

P1010116-1.JPG

20151003_104102.jpg

IMG_1939-1.jpg

20140227_131616.jpg

20151004_133613.jpg

In general, Rome is an easy-to-walk city. Sometimes we rent a car, but one must be very careful not to enter restricted areas, otherwise you get a fine!

Wherever you walk, you will find an amazing spot. Wherever you eat, the food varies from medium to amazing – it is impossible to be dissatisfied. The Romans are very helpful; they have a great sense of taste and humour! Enjoy!

P1010095.JPG

Sort:  

Thanks for this post. I'll be in Italy this fall. My first trip overseas from the USA and it's a big one! Posts like this give me direction and a lot of ideas. Thanks for posting it and I'll check your other stuff out.

Italy is amazing..i visited recently amalfi and the region of florence with the wineries etc and it was beautiful. Try to stay as many days as you can..

This is beautiful my darling ❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

Thank youuuu!!!😚😚😚😚

beautiful.. i'm following you please follow me and give me upvoted

Very nice post! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you!

Hey, great shots, Rome is indeed lovely . For how long have you stayed there , apologies I didn't yet read the other post.
I started to keep a travel blog myself and I wrote about Rome the other week, if you care to take a look :
https://steemit.com/travel/@kingmotan/travel-vlog-1-you-should-visit-rome-part-1

Nice post! We usually stay 3-4 days and if we have more time we go on tours outside Rome. I will describe these in the future..greetings!

Rome is definitely on the list of cities that I want to visit :)

It s a must!

In Rome ypu must eat "Cacio e pepe"! Upvoted and followed :)

Why don't you check my last post about food?
I think they are best burgers in the world -------> https://steemit.com/food/@notonlyfood/try-to-find-a-better-one-paninoteca-da-gino I hope you will leave a vote :)

Thanks! Voted!!!