The Backpack Girl #13 - Norbulingka Institute, Dharamshala

in #travel6 years ago

One of the greatest thing about humanity is the various cultures that exist on the planet. Cultures are a way of expression of a society and it is done is so many different ways.

There is art, there is music, architecture and even clothes. These are only some of the defining factors of any culture and it is one of my favorite things to do to explore them and learn as much as possible about them.

I think I am lucky in that regards because I'm home to a country known for its thousands of cultures from the north to the south and the east to the west. That is why while travelling, you always get to see a diverse group of people and way of living. Today, I want to share one such journey where the main focus was Tibetan culture.

0.jpg

This is the Norbulingka Institute which was founded in 1988 and is situated near Dharamshala. It is dedicated to the preservation of the Tibetan culture.

As soon as you reach the gates, you are immediately interfacing with Tibetan architecture as you can see in the photo above, and this is only the beginning.

1.jpg

As you walk further along, the sight of Tibetan prayer flags greets you which had a certain calming feel to it. They say these flags purify the surrounding with positive energy.

2.jpg

The presence of greenery all around added a special feel to the place as man's architecture seemed to amalgamate with nature's own. It was as if I was taking a stroll down the very sights that are often shown in travel channels in our TVs and it felt really special, to say the least.

3.jpg

The presence of the pond in the vicinity had its own effect on the atmosphere as it brought another element of nature into the mix. It was simply serene and I was slowly understanding what Tibetan culture was all about.

4.jpg

It is the little things like these (the structure in the photo below) that amazes me the most. The way this structure was built might seem not too much of a big deal to a lot of people, but to me, it was a glimpse into the way of doing things in their culture.

5.jpg

While taking this particular photo, I felt like I was in a movie scene for some reason. I have seen this type of place in movies where they show scenes of Japan, with a single storied house with a water body surrounding it.

6.jpg

Another photo where the effect that greenery has on the its surrounding is really evident. I tried to imagine what this particular place would like without those trees and I came to the conclusion that it wouldn't be that nice.

7.jpg

8.jpg

Even simple things like doors tell a tale of the specific style of design and architecture in the Tibetan culture.

9.jpg

Prayer flags, lush green trees, and a majestic building that looked nothing short of a palace. Suffice it to say, this is a place like no other.

10.jpg

I have a lot more photos to share of the Norbulingka Institute, so stay tuned for the part II of this post which I will be posting tomorrow. Peace! :)



Follow me @travel-cuisine


Sort:  

i fell in love in this picture :D

hehe thank you :)

Very interesting place & nice photos!

Thank you so much :)

yeah @travel-cuisine you are back :) is steem funding your journey now?

haha some of it, yes! :D

Great post! I haven't been to Dharamshala yet but always wanted to go. Hopefully soon!

Oh, you need to check it out asap! :D

Thank you. This photo shared this photo is very nice. This is an awesome photo, and you're really a good photographer.

Thank you so much :)

Thanks for sharing :) One day I will visit Dharamshala and hope to see his holiness Dalai Lama

Yeah, you definitely should :)

excellent post

Thank you so much :)

Would love to visit there
But somehow when all that will be accomplished

Yup, you should check it out.

The structure shown in the photo is really captivating. I wonder how those structure were built, especially the colourful cultural design at the wall of these structures. Dharamshala is really a home of culture. I am eagerly waiting for the part ii of the post. Nice one

I was amazed at all the architecture too. I was wondering the same, about how they must have built it. It sure is a beautiful place :)

really sweet shots i do really love it

Thank you so much :)

Good

Thank you so much :)

Wow this is awesome. If you like to watch interesting content i invite you to follow me and upvote my last post. Regards!
@azizu

Thank you so much :)

Beautiful. Tibet is high on my bucket list of places I want to visit. It is a such a beautiful country with such interesting history and culture.

yeah, but this was not in Tibet. This place is known as Dharamshala which is in India.

It seem that this place is similar to Chinese style?

Yeah the influence of buddhism.

filthy-stinking-thieves.jpg

Rewards Pool Farmer Alert

@Steemcleaners, check out the comments section of @ryacha21 above. (https://steemit.com/@ryacha21/comments)

He is leasing 30k SP from @minnowbooster then using that to VOTE Up his own 7 Day old comments on random posts at the last minute. Scroll his comments to around the 6 day mark or just go to https://steemd.com/@ryacha21; he has a lot of self love on his own old comments.

HE IS DOING IT OVER AND OVER AND OVER.. He is farming the pool.. If you could help it would be appreciated..

Learn more about this sack of monkey spunk here:

https://steemit.com/shitpost/@pawsdog/the-shit-post-diaries-1-17-18-4

Also kinda a dick move to use the actual good post of another person to post a comment for no other reason to come back and farm it later.

Post Author, @travel-cuisine I do apologize.. This dude makes no actual articles of his own so the only way to draw attention to what he is doing is to comment his comments. My sincerest apologies for cluttering up your blog, outing the abusive self voting behavior of @ryacha21

Have you ever considered entering Tibet itself? It's not as hard as people would lead you to believe, it can be a pain but the Chinese government is actually pretty accommodating to foreigners

I have not considered it actually.

Very beutiful images. Hope you will also like my work
@captainpkgautam

Really interesting place. Nice detailed description. Thanks for the share! Have you ever been to Tibet?

Thank you. I am glad you liked it :)

Looks great, always wanted to know more about Tibetian culture.