The East Coast As Told By @travellingbug Kate - RAINBOW BEACH AND FRAZER ISLAND 🏝🙌😍

in #travel3 years ago

img_3352.heic

(My Kitchen)

Hey Travel Bloggers

Sorry it’s been a month or so !!!
Getting all ready for Christmas at work and finishing the Christmas shopping took priority I’m afraid! And finishing work as I work in a special needs school - so so so blessed to work there, I love my job so much and have been so lucky throughout this year to have still got my job and didn’t do a day without working!!!! Can’t wait to have a fabulous Christmas ( it was a lovely one - very strange during these uncertain times but Tom and I make the most of it :) as we couldn’t travel from family to family we spent a lot of time watching movies, going for walks and eating lots!! ) ...

img_3972.jpg

img_3876.heic

img_3867.heic

img_4099.heic

img_3961.heic

img_4076.heic

img_4038.heic

img_4049.heic

img_4091.heic

img_4056.heic

hopefully 2021 will bring more travelling for @tomatom and I ;)!! We only managed Amsterdam, Cornwall and Norfolk this year !!!! But let’s get back to 2013 ...

FRAZER ISLAND

Oh how I loved this island !!!

You can travel there from Rainbow Beach or Hervey Bay
And on my journey was Rainbow beach so that’s where my little adventure to the island began!

A8DF9D93-60BB-4E33-9FAC-D826EB093325.png

I think I was there a couple of days before I left for the island .. just getting ready and seeing from the hostel who was going on my trip, getting to know them a little and checking out the sand dunes in this little town!! Carlo Sand blow !! Awesome to say the least - watched the sunsets sooo many times !! Abit of a hike to get up there but soooo worth it !!! I even saw a wedding up there when I got back from Fraser !! Super cute !! The hostel did free walks up there every night to see the sunset ! Totally worth it Obvs! You meet new people every time , stopped me having my head buried in a book in my doom or eating noodles for the 5th million night in a row because you get talking to someone and you go out or cook something together !!

img_3302.heic

We left on our little bus down to the jetty and caught the ferry over to Fraser !!
We were met by a very bright pink bus fit for the island you’ll see shortly what I mean well sort of!!!!
We all piled on thinking we wanted to get to the back to be like the cool kids but I soon realised that wasn’t going to be the case for me over the next 4 days !! As soon as I got to the hostel I was like right !!! Front next time !!!
4 days on an island seems crazy right but we had sooooo much to see !!! The roads were insane well I say roads more like sand dunes !!
The driver put on this song and at first we were all abit like okkkkkkk crazy man but we soon realised it felt like we seemed to be on some sort of rollercoaster !!!!

The song

  • We’re all Gunna die some day * by Kasey Chambers became very appropriate !!! I loved it and still listen to it to this day !!!!

We were split into groups for our dooms - mixed .. but rooms of 2 .. il show you - it was a cabin ! ( no tents for us we were living the high life haha no being killed my dingos !! ( the islands dog!!! ) ) we even had white towels !!!!

img_3298.heic
( 75 mile beach )
img_3297.heic

See what I mean about the bus!!! Oh we got a puncture haha that’s why I said sort of!! Huge tyres to get over the ‘roads’ on the island !

Im so glad we were with a tour guide showing us the coolest places ( we missed out on a couple due to the tide and not be able to get to that side of the island - the shipwrecked and the champagne pools which I was gutted about but we saw most other things )

Eli Creek

img_3299.heic

It’s like a lazy river but connected to the sea - you go up the top and just float down ! Pretty awesome ! Toilets not so haha the spiders in there were insane!

Lake Mackenzie

img_3296.heic

The famous lake !! Wasn’t as Crystal clear as I’ve seen on some pictures but we just lazed for a while !! Went for a walk through the forestry bit

620633DE-3C30-46B4-AA0B-12ABEC4DB055.jpeg

Lake Wabby

img_3300.heic

The was a track and a half up a massive sand dune but so worth it !! We actually walked through it to another part of the island where you could see people paddle boarding ! Pretty cool ! But in Lake Wabby were massive cat fish !! So watch your step !! Awesome none the less !!

C24E7897-CADF-4853-B48F-1FC9FC26AC1D.jpeg

CD6FCD6D-4900-496D-A25E-8CB79A8C1603.jpeg

Every evening we played card drinking games and also had a communal buffet dinner which was pretty cool as you got to see the others from different dooms !! We had some free time but mostly timetabled due to the sort of trip we were on and some of the danger of the island !!

I properly haven’t done the island justice with my pictures etc but sometimes it’s about your own experience - I came back to Rainbow Beach a totally different person , loved every second plus got an awesome tan!!

I had a couple of days before I moved on to my next destination which is ...

NOOSA :D

Plus everyone had discovered on the bus that I was a chef so we decided to all cook together from the group one evening which was lovely but I ended up cooking and the others just ate it ;)! It was only pasta so I didn’t mind!

22EC78BB-E070-47F5-A5FF-1C40C4DDB306.jpeg

A lot of this group I saw again!!! In different places :) Noosa, Byron Bay And Sydney ( I still have a lot of them on Fb and Instagram )

Until next time ...
You gotta go see Fraser for yourself honestly don’t just take my word for it !! Go make memories !!

Take care
Thank you so much as always for reading
Kate x

Sort:  

Congratulations @travellingbug! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.
You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP