Birthday in Prague

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

For my birthday back in February I decided to stay in Prague. Prague was a major bucket list item for me and I was eagerly counting down the days until I arrived. I am so happy I did as this is one of my favourite cities I’ve ever been to!

3D3B6C40-1641-4FDA-91ED-C0018B8D914E.jpeg

There were many reasons Prague was high on my list of places to see but going to the Prague Ballet was number 1.

I had wanted to go see the ballet in Prague since I was 12. When I booked my flights I had been searching ballet performances in Prague and was excited to see that a performance of Swan Lake was happening 3 days after my birthday.

Swan Lake and the Nutcracker are my favourite ballets. They are also the ones I have personally performed in the most. Watching the ballet was amazing, it wasn’t in their normal theatre as that was being renovated a theme which was everywhere in Prague.

FB587758-5228-4735-B962-C5E313176C8E.jpeg
Memorial for communism in Prague

Prague was undergoing major renovations whilst I was there. Namely on the astronomical clock, the Charles bridge and the main ballet theatre. This didn’t impact on my trip too much but I will definitely be heading back when those works are finished to be able to see these sites.

The most disappointing site in Prague was the Lennon Wall. Whilst I was there many people had scrawled over the main works with little finesse. I am all for street art as many of my previous posts have shown however the wall wasn’t up to the standards I had seen in previous times. I found the art in the corridors leading to the wall to be of higher quality. As the wall is ever changing hopefully when I return it will have a more interesting display.

BABE3DFB-6C9F-423A-89C2-3F6FA035D635.jpeg

A site that I wasn’t aware of but fell in love with was the book tower at the front of the Prague Library. 8000 books were used to create a cylinder. The mirror inside which provides an infinite tunnel of books is a great touch. The books used are from many countries and languages and it was lovely to walk around and admit the books. Art like this is very common in Prague and gives the city a unique twist and personality.

F23EE506-98F1-49B4-8CBE-B9FDF3BACA1F.jpeg

EE64D9AC-1178-49D4-AB71-1D1667683C97.jpeg

B0E3ACED-5A52-4374-9359-DB39FD670E81.jpeg

Sort:  

Good story Matey!
You didn't mention that your Dad booked you into a flash hotel for your Birthday :)

I can’t believe I forgot to write that in! It was the best present!

That's One I won't let you forget! .........

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelwithrhi
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=birthday-in-prague


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!