My trip From USA to Chile flying a single-engine

in #travel8 years ago

"Finally" we departed Seattle toward our new adventure riding an a single-engine plane to southern Chile. Finally it is in quotes because although the delay was greater than expected (due to export documentation) too is never time to be in the state of Washignton and around Seattle. I said that this is one of my favorite regions in the world? Well, in the summer it is. But in winter if you are not in one of the mountains near Seattle skiing and enjoying the freezing landscapes you will meet a Seattle a gray and cloudy both. Unless you have the good fortune to be there this winter 2015! The days were so beautiful and primaverais (with all the cherry trees around the city in advance full of flowers) that actually despite the anxiety to start the journey, it was not that bad stand around waiting.

https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmdBDy5DyiFtP35snsVeN1395VPdFhzemVkCZWpUsY5pCK

 A cidade de Seattle, Puget Sound e a Space Needle 


We took off with absolutely blue sky almost hypnotized by one of the most iconic images of Seattle: The majestic volcano Mt. Rainier in most winter days is hidden in the clouds. Today it is spectacular and the will to take a ride on your cone is tempting despite not having much time and be on flight plan by instrument, in this type of flight we have to follow to the letter the commands of the flight controllers. But we are lucky, we are diverted towards him before we turn to the west and follow the Pacific coast to Oregon.

https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmTLKJYcVFx7zNoPGV4TjFnHvbdgB2uLQfP1unJ6Lo5cCc

Mt. Rainier volcano from our plane window, close and clear!


Oregon is one of my favorite states and synthesizes this flight because I like him so much (in the next post I'll tell you what state you should travel if you could know only one). We follow the coastline for most of the time and the scenery is dramatic. I look down the right and see the waves crashing down there with giant black rocks jutting out of the sea. Some of them look like pieces of the moon or comets that fall from space along the beaches and now and then a navigation beacon appears to have been pinned there for creating a postcard perfect; in motion!

Then immediately look to the left and see a chain of volcanoes covered by glaciers. We are not so high, but the day is so clear that we can easily count the same time 6 of 18 volcanoes present along the Cascades mountain range. They stand out from the mountains covered no less than the largest trees in the world; the "Red Woods". Although the landscape below had not a green as intense as the last time I flew this leg, the set still impressive. But I must confess, these trees look so small from up here are more impressive views of the same ground there.

I've had the opportunity to drive this route a few times (one of them when driving with my brother 5500 km from Miami to Seattle) and be down there looking up and see how those are huge trees is a unique feeling. It's like flying, because you realize how small we are and more like our concerns are insignificant. It makes you realize how much time we waste time with useless thoughts when we should be just living the present moment and that feeling extends to every moment of our life, not only when we operate in stunning scenery like this. These experiences make us realize how many details go unnoticed in the rush of our day-to-day: a corner of a bird, a flower, a child's smile.

Curious how I miss me feel small to enjoy and appreciate the beauty of things that we think small day-to-day. Enough to be contradictory, but these moments are like fuel to live in joy the most ordinary days. Up here as often happens, I photograph the landscape trying naively to capture that feeling not to forget never, I am happy because I live with that exact moment intensity and the same way I can be as happy as when I am present with full attention to moments etiquetaríamos usually insignificant.

https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmWUKvtfE2UuLC25RgxVQLaRM27LpKpj4me2FCfBamGmZb

Approaching for landing at the airport in Crescent City, in northern California. How is an airport without a control tower, lit the runway lights by pressing 5 times the microphone intercom.


Step control of the plane to Santiago for him to show me an approach by GPS. (I did not have when flown to Brazil) and to follow the procedure we have to fly over the airport and fly for almost 10 minutes with the bow to the ocean. Among follow the procedure that Santiago makes me obsess and the sunset in the ocean, Don nudges me, I look back and visibly worried he asks: Where will we land? Although he did not understand what I explain I know my laugh reassures and soon after we turn 180 degrees, lit the runway lights with 5 rings the intercom and we find ourselves approaching the sea cliffs and the airstrip. Santiago alights gently, the Don of a grip on his shoulder and we all communicate in thought with a smile: First part: Complete!

Sort:  

Amazing , such vivid coloured blues in Mt. Rainier volcano picture.