What a Saigon!

in #travel6 years ago

Hey Steemians!

After spending a good few weeks in Phnom Penh - the capital of Cambodia, the time has come to visit Saigon or Ho Chi Minh City if you prefer. The bus ride linking two cities takes only 6 hours so I had plenty of time to explore Vietnam's coolest city over an extended weekend. Here is what I was up to:
IMG_8554.jpg
One of Saigon's most famous attractions is actually out of the city. The tunnels of Củ Chi are an immense network of connecting underground tunnels and are part of a much larger network of tunnels that underlie much of the country.
IMG_0150.JPG
Saigon is known for its notorious crazy traffic consisting mostly of motorbikes. The time has come to shop for my own mode of transport to deal with it. This model parked in front of the War Remnants Museum attracted my attention, however, the owners said it's not for sale...
IMG_8552 2.jpg
I was very disappointed with the museum's decision not to sell me the tank. It fits me well, doesn't it? Hmmm... perhaps it had something to do with the fact that the engine stopped working long time ago?
IMG_0146.JPG
If you can't beat the locals - join them! Here on a great "Saigon After Dark" tour organized by Vespa Adventures. Thanks for having me guys!

IMG_4825.jpg
Tired of constantly getting stuck in the traffic, I've decided to explore the city on foot. Saigon's City Centre (District 1) is so nice and organized that it reminds of Paris.

IMG_4840.jpg
Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica of Saigon, officially Cathedral Basilica of Our Lady of The Immaculate Conception is a cathedral located in the downtown of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.

IMG_8595.JPG
The Municipal Theatre of Ho Chi Minh City, also known as Saigon Opera House, is an opera house in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. It is an example of French Colonial architecture in Vietnam.

IMG_8592.jpg
Ho Chi Minh City Hall or Saigon City Hall or Hôtel de Ville de Saïgon was built in 1902-1908 in a French colonial style for the then city of Saigon. It was renamed after 1975 as Ho Chi Minh City People's Committee.

IMG_4765.JPG
Finishing my stay in one of the live rock music bars.

A quick trip to Saigon gave me a much needed break from a still much less developed Phnom Penh. I loved the city and I'll be happy to come back whenever I have a chance.

Have you been to Saigon? How was it for you?

Sort:  

I haven't been to Saigon/Vietnam yet but if it's as epic as your pictures, I think it's worth a future trip. That green tank looks well polished. Pretty neat they let you get on top of one.

Just returned fro there. Loved it. For me it was a city with nowhere to move but everything moved. How did you get a pic of yourself walking in District one without any traffic?