5047 metres above sea level - A story of my summit to one of the highest mountains of the Caucasus.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I'm a traveller, documentary filmmaker and road warrior. Nothing excites me more than a beautiful peak on the horizon. So once a year I choose a mountain to climb as a certain goal to push me through the year.

On August 6th 2017 at 10.00 am after 8 hours of climbing up I’ve summited mount Kazbek. It was one of the most memorable moments of my life that changed me forever.

The climb that took a total of 5 days was quite intense for me — а fairly unprepared, loud and bubbly young woman that new nothing about “big boy mountaineering” or ice climbing.

Good that I had the company of the most incredible hilarious young mountain lovers to keep me on my feet. Friends you climb with, you stay with.

IMG_0626.jpg

IMG_0496.jpg

IMG_0524.jpg

The first day we spent acclimatising to new heights and trying to make sense of the beauty that was around us. It’s funny that Georgia still stays massively undervalued by Western tourists but long has been considered one of the top destinations for ex-USSR citizens.

Screen Shot 2018-01-12 at 12.08.31.png

IMG_0727.jpg

On our second day we reached the famous stop-off half way up to the summit — the Meteo station or else known as Betlemi Hut (3860 m). That’s were the real testament started. I got blessed with some mountain sickness, diarrhoea, shortness of breath topped up with a small nose bleed. But all of this didn’t really matter once I looked around. Floating above the clouds you get to witness of the most iconic places on Earth.

Some legends say that Prometheus was chained to this mighty mountain after stealing the fire from heavens. Surrounded by spectacular nauseating views and accompanied by constant rattle of the falling stones you could easily believe it.

Screen Shot 2018-01-12 at 12.10.16.png

DJI_0006.jpg

DJI_0024.jpg

On the day of the summit my Georgian guide Noda and I set off at 2 am. We spent first 4 hours in silent meditative walk up. My senses were amplified. It was dark and all I could see was Noda’s head torch leading the way.

The most difficult part was to stay true to my intention and keep my mind focused on putting one foot after the other. Something that we do daily without really noticing becomes a truly monumental task in those kind of conditions and altitudes.

IMG_0846 copy.jpg

IMG_0853 copy.jpg

With the first rays of early sun I started to feel pain and terrible exhaustion. I started doubting myself and felt desperation wrapping around my guts. Then I talked to my spirits. They said:”If you ever want to love, to feel, to explore, to live with an open heart, prepare to fight for it, prepare to be strong...stop doubting, Di, just keep walking.” So I did haha.

Mountains are the best advisers.

IMG_0863 ii.jpg

IMG_0871 iik.jpg

IMG_0895.jpg

When I finally reached the top my soul exploded. I wanted to weep, laugh, love, become a supernova and give life. That day showed me the way to my true path in life. And I will be forever grateful to the mountain for that.

Screen Shot 2018-01-12 at 12.14.13.png

Screen Shot 2017-08-13 at 19.34.51.jpg

Screen Shot 2018-01-12 at 12.14.22.png

IMG_0889 copy.jpg

Moments like this make your feel life even more deeply than ever. We are so blessed to be alive and kicking. Please don't give up on your dreams. Expect less and travel more!

Love,
Dx

Sort:  

Thanks for your good posts, I followed you!